Skip to content

The years just flow by like a broken down dam

August 16, 2008

It’s Saturday morning and there’s no one in the house but me and the cat. And the best part? That’s the way it’s going to be until tomorrow night. Mr. Spy and his brother have taken AJ to the state capital to see the Lincoln Museum and the State Fair (not necessarily in that order). It’s the second-to-last weekend before school starts and I’m getting my own vacation by virtue of going nowhere.

I have a boatload of household projects planned, far more than I can actually accomplish. Also on the agenda: eating cereal for dinner, painting my toenails and watching movies that no one else in the Spy house is interested in, and a bike ride with Fairlywell.

I’m sure by this evening I’ll be missing them a little, but right now I’m washing the breakfast dishes in my bare feet and belting out “Angel from Montgomery” with Bonnie Raitt and John Prine, cranked up nice and loud. A perfect Saturday morning.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2008 11:23 am

    I LOVE that song. I think it’s the first (and still favorite) song I taught myself to play on my guitar. (my guitar playing skills rival those of Phoebe from Fr1ends…but this song is a few notches above “Smelly Cat”)

    When I was AJ’s age, I used to love taking trips to that same capital, to visit Lincoln’s home. I wish I’d visited the state fair, too. Instead we always went to the Alhambra Homecoming in the south of the very same state – where mother used to bake pies to raise money for the PTA, and I used to get lucky at bingo and win stuffed animals by throwing softballs through a toilet seat. Ahhh, I love small towns.

  2. August 16, 2008 11:29 am

    Ah, Bonnie and John. “Make me a poster of an old rodeo…”

  3. August 16, 2008 12:21 pm

    I heard the song on Thursday, I think for the first time, although I don’t know how that could be, since I’ve long been a fan of both Raitt and Prine. But for those who love John Prine, you should hear this week’s edition of American Routes, which is mostly an interview with him with interpolated songs. It’s terrific. You can find it here.

  4. August 16, 2008 1:38 pm

    Enjoy your weekend alone! I know how nice it is–I even got a little excited this morning when I realized I was going to be home alone for a few hours.

  5. August 16, 2008 5:26 pm

    I hear ya! My boy’s in New Orleans, and the phone isn’t ringing. Silence is beautiful. I can totally relate. Ahhhh.

  6. freshhell permalink
    August 17, 2008 8:56 am

    Hope you had a great staycation! I love nights alone when I can watch silly movies no one else will watch and paint my nails. I’ll be touching mine up to Inspector Lyndley tonight. What movie(s) did you watch?

  7. August 17, 2008 1:53 pm

    The best part about being home alone has been mealtimes. I can eat what I want, when I want and I can read something while I’m doing it without being constantly interrupted. And yes, silence is definitely beautiful. As for movies, Swing Time was on TV, so I watched that first. Then I watched Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story, which was hilarious.

  8. Lass permalink
    August 17, 2008 5:52 pm

    I recently had a week to myself and found it very rejuvenating as well. Glad you got some Harriet-time and give Julia a hug for me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

