Skip to content

Veterans of domestic wars

January 15, 2010

The gifted task force continues to grow. We have nearly 40 families on our list now, which represents, I think, somewhere between 1/3 and 1/2 of the kids in the program, which is kind of amazing. We held our first meeting this morning and 12 of us worked for over 2 hours to hammer out our presentation and a list of other things we want to do. There is not a complainer in the bunch. Lots of good, level-headed evaluation and interesting ideas.

Near the end of our meeting, which took place in a coffee shop/restaurant meeting room with a glass door, a man knocked on the door and came in. I’d noticed him earlier. He was tall and thin with a mop of gray hair and had been sitting at a table near the door working on his laptop. We had the door open for a while and he must have heard what we were doing, because he came in to wish us luck and to tell us we were doing a great thing. He said he’d been involved in the same thing years ago when his kids were young.

“Make sure you hold them accountable.”

This is a piece of advice I’ve been hearing from a number of places and I’m not entirely sure I know what it means. How do I hold the school board accountable? I will ask them to name names and announce timetables, but I’m not entirely sure how to hold them accountable when the state supports nothing.

But the man’s appearance gave us a lift. The group already has a positive attitude about a very bad situation, but that helped us a little bit more.

* * * * *

Meanwhile, AJ has a four day weekend and we have big plans, including a couple of AJ basketball games, a birthday party for one of my nieces, and some work time on AJ’s science fair project and his Pinewood Derby car. We are hoping to stage a trip to the Museum of Science and Industry tomorrow and to visit a friend nearby. Monday night he has been invited to a slumber party and Mr. Spy and I have a night to ourselves. So, internet, what should we do?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    January 15, 2010 6:40 pm

    Go see Up in the Air.

  2. January 16, 2010 12:59 am

    My mom and her highness are going to the same Museum tomorrow and I’m going to work (UGH!) tomorrow. Let me know if you stick to the plan.

  3. January 16, 2010 9:02 am

    I’m pretty sure we’re going. It’s a matter of when.

  4. January 16, 2010 10:08 am

    I wanna go to the Museum of Science and Industry! Don’t move til I’ve gotten my family up there for a visit.

    As for what to do while there are no children in the house for an evening, if you and your husband have forgotten THAT, then there is nothing I can do for you.

  5. January 16, 2010 10:37 am

    Hee. Your kids would LOVE MSI, Jill. And if you’re in Hyde Park, I also recommend a tour of FL Wright’s Robie house — especially good if there are any fans of Chasing Vermeer/The Wright Three/The Calder Game. And the Oriental Museum is a great small museum (right near the Robie House) with lots of mummies and cuneiform. Also good for Indiana Jones fans. I wish there were a decent hotel in Hyde Park. It’s a great place for a weekend with kids.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

