Skip to content

Blue skies smiling at me

April 19, 2012

This week had been kicking my ass. Which is amazing, because I didn’t even arrive at the office until Tuesday this week. But work has been exceptionally busy and also productive. Which is nice, because those two things don’t necessarily go together. But a number of projects that have been kind of stalled out have suddenly started to move. I’ve got one more big thing to turn in tomorrow before I head back to Chicago and I will be caught up. For the moment, anyway.

Part of why I’ve been so tired this week, though, has been fun. Tuesday night the Toy Factory threw a party for a friend of mine whose latest toy was just released. Quite unexpectedly some legendary hip hop musicians showed up. this guy was there, for instance. He stood and looked over the DJ’s shoulder for a while and then took his turn at the turntable. And all the white nerdy toymakers danced with all the enormous, chain-wearing African-American DJs. Food and drink flowed freely. It was the most fun I’ve ever had in my office lobby. I stayed until the party ended around 9, an hour after schedule.

Last night, I actually left on time. I met up with The International Couple of Mystery (aka International Woman of Mystery/IWOM and International Man of Mystery/IMOM). IWOM and I met in college. We both met IMOM the summer after we graduated when we were all working at a summer stock company in Cape Cod. IWOM was the costume designer; IMOM was on the stage crew; and I was a violinist in the orchestra pit. The last time I saw IMOM was at their wedding 20 years ago. The last time I saw IWOM was at the wedding of our mutual friend Peppy Pilot Girl‘s wedding 5 years later. IWOM and PPG and I all sang in choir together in college. Are you still with me?

Anyway, the ICOM live in Scotland, but were in town visiting and taking in some Broadway shows, so we made plans to meet. They arrived in my office lobby at quitting time and we hugged and then went drinking at a bar down the street that is a favorite of the toymakers. After a few rounds of fancy gin and tonics (Hendricks gin, St. Germain, and tonic and lime), we stumbled out into the street said goodbye to IMOM, who was heading off to a show on his own, and IWOM and I headed down to the Village for sushi and wine and cake. It was a lovely evening. And for someone I haven’t seen in 15 years, it sure felt like we’d just seen each other yesterday, picking right up where we’d left off. I’m really hoping it isn’t another 15 years before I see them again. Safe travels homeward, ICOM!

Tomorrow I’ll head home myself, after some writing, a meeting, and some more writing. It’s been a tough week, but a good one too. But I’m looking forward to seeing AJ and Mr. Spy tomorrow. Hear that Mr. weatherman? Clear sailing homeward, please! I bought a new raincoat today. Surely that will assure me some sunshine. Yes? Yes?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. iwom permalink
    April 19, 2012 10:09 pm

    With or without belt?

  2. April 20, 2012 5:11 am

    Ohhh Hendricks gin–that’s some tasty stuff. I wish we could get tonic the way it is in the UK. Ours is much too sweet.

    Hoping for clear skies and no delays for your trip home today.

  3. April 20, 2012 7:07 am

    It’s belt free! It has mock horn toggle buttons like a duffle coat. I did cave on the color –it’s beige. But it’s machine washable and the lining is bright orange. And yes, Hendricks is delicious. I never liked gin until I tried it. These were a little sweet, but I love the flavor of elderflower with the gin, though, so it made up for it. If you try hard, you can get unsweetened tonic here. Whole Foods sells it. but it’s definitely a challenge to find it.

  4. April 20, 2012 7:38 am

    Blue Skies was the song my father sang most (and being a theater person, he sang a lot–he was famous for his moaning rendition of Bali Hai). We seriously considered having Walker sing it at his memorial service, but decided not to, because it’s a little hard to explain. Anyway, the title of this post is definitely an outlook on life that I grew up with–gray days, all of them gone, nothing but blue skies from now on…

  5. April 23, 2012 11:51 am

    That’s what I miss about single/childless life. Going somewhere and eating something, then going somewhere else and eating something different. And, no, the Applebee’s to Baskin-Robbins doesn’t count. Nor does Subway to the refrigerator.

Trackbacks

  1. Fast away the old year passes « spynotes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

