Skip to content

Stat filler

May 3, 2012

I have fully intended to post more this week, but staying in Brooklyn means I stay up late talking to Cranky and get up early when Toddler J comes peeking around the corner of the sofa I sleep on.  This morning, though, my day began with a round of applause for my heartfelt rendition of “Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes.”  There’s nothing like someone else’s two-year-old for making you feel appreciated.

Here is Toddler J wearing her sunglasses in their preferred position, upside-down:

And here she is ready to head out into the rain;

While my boss did not great me with applause during my performance review, she might as well have. It went very well. The Toy Factory is happy with my work and I am happy with them, so it was strife free.  I did the reviews of my supervisees today and similarly I was happy with them, they were happy with me and all is well in the land.  And tomorrow I am meeting with the HR person assigned to help me to talk about the hiring the replacement for the person who’s leaving.  It feels like things are happening, despite the fact that I spent 5 hours today in meetings and didn’t feel like I accomplished a heck of a lot. I felt sufficiently accomplished to leave before six for the second time in one week, which I think is a first for me in this job.

On the train on the way home, I picked up The Gone-Away World, which I have been reading at Jeanne‘s behest. I had been sitting around a conference table earlier in the afternoon with two coworkers, one of whom is also an FOJ (Friend of Jeanne) and who also recently read this book. We were discussing how it’s incredible that someone can set up a world so surreal where anything can happen and still pull the rug out from under you. I’d just gotten to a scene so shocking and surprising that I was flabbergasted. But little did I know that on the train, there was another scene just a few pages later that took surprise to a whole new level, so much so that I very nearly bailed out and went back to the beginning to start the book over in light of the new information. It is not my favorite book, as I think Jeanne has said it is for her, but it is one of the most fascinating novels I’ve ever read. Very well written, and told in a very unusual way. The whole process of reading this book is causing me to rethink how I read fiction.

And now I am back in Cranky’s apartment and everyone else is sleeping. I hope to be heading that way too, very soon. But maybe just a few more pages first. It will stave off the parental guilt of missing AJ’s talent show gig this evening.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2012 11:12 am

    Toddler J is pretty cute. I am suffering from babylust all over again, which is ridiculous. I thought I was over that. Congrats on the PR, I have to read that book, and I’m sorry about the talent show. . . .

  2. May 6, 2012 8:30 am

    I heartily enjoyed your acronym (FOJ). And what you say about that novel making you rethink how you read fiction is why it is one of my favorites. There’s nothing I like better than fiction that explores the concept of what can be real in that universe and what might be lies, because at some level you know it’s all made up but at another, if it’s well-written, it’s as real as anything else going on inside your head…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

