Skip to content

I’d like to thank the Academy

February 24, 2013

Most weekends, it’s easy to forget we live in New York City.  Our activities are not so different from those that filled our weekend hours in small-town Illinois and mostly involve schlepping AJ from activity to activity and cheering him on as appropriate.  But every now and then, we remember where we are, as when I get this text from Mr Spy this morning.  He and AJ had left for AJ’s basketball practice and I was heading over later for the game.  

J0hn Turturr0′s coaching basketball. 

Yes, the star of my favorite movie, Box of Moonlight, lives in my neighborhood and has a kid AJ’s age.  In fact, as Mr. Spy later pointed out to me, their names are next to each other on the coaching roster. The difference is, Turturro played a basketball coach in a movie by Spike Lee.  Mr. Spy did not.

It’s probably for the best that I missed Mr. Turturro at the gym this morning.  There are not many people who’d render me starstruck, but I think he might be one.  But there was still plenty to be happy about.  Because this morning, the last game of the season, AJ’s team finally pulled off its first win.  

It is spring-like in Brooklyn today.  As a result, I stopped at the farmer’s market and again at the florist for plants and came home with potted hyacinths and tulips, thyme and lavender.  The crocuses are coming up already and I think I’m overdue for a stroll through the Botanic Garden, where, if my luck holds, I’ll have just missed Paul Auster admiring the freshly pruned trees.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2013 1:14 pm

    Good ending. Maybe you can put up a sign: Tarturro sweated here

  2. February 26, 2013 6:28 am

    Wow, parts of A Box of Moonlight were filmed about 5 mi. from my house! It isn’t exactly a mainstream movie- I was so surprised to see a reference to it! My husband and I also love Turturro.

  3. February 26, 2013 7:37 am

    Really? It looks beautiful there. Okay, now I really need to see this movie again, much to Mr. Spy’s chagrin — he likes it, but not I-must-see-it-at-least-once-a-year likes it.

  4. February 26, 2013 12:26 pm

    @Harri3tspy- To be clear, the parts filmed VERY NEAR our house were the scenes when Turturro is in the diner, and the hotel soon following that. (The hotel is still right there, looking much the same.) The bar-fight scene was filmed NEXT DOOR to my husband’s office, about 15 mi. away in Knoxville, TN.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

