Skip to content

New

January 6, 2014

The Spys are back from our travels. We hiked in the snow in single degree temperatures in Chicago, met Santa Claus (whose 1960s issue suit is looking a little the worse for wear) at a family party, wandered around the suburbs looking for things to do and wondering what we did when we lived here. We climbed mountains in New Mexico, gasping for breath. We visited with monks and, on the way to their monastery, a bald eagle, just feet away, flying along the canyon that paralleled the road. We saw a bobcat on the back porch and ate spicy food. We didn’t see Santa Claus this time, but he brought us some gifts anyway. We came home just in time to toast in the new year and watch the fireworks from our roof. Cranky and J came over on New Year’s Day to help us celebrate and then it was back to work on the 2nd, but only for a day. I got my first snow day since high school on Friday the third, working from home and taking a break to ski in the park.

This morning, while my Midwestern friends are barricading their doors against cold I haven’t seen since childhood, it was 52 for my morning run in Brooklyn. Running through an empty park in fog so thick i couldn’t see more than a few feet ahead, where my fellow runners were nothing more than shapes looming ominously in the dark and with the ships on the East River blowing their foghorns incessantly,it was like running on the set of a horror movie. I got home and discovered I’d had my fastest time ever. Apparently an overactive imagination is what it takes to improve my time. By tonight it is supposed to be 8 degrees, which is posing some challenges for what to wear to the office today. I shall hope for the best.

I hope all of you enjoyed your new year’s celebrations. I don’t make resolutions, but if I did, I might be inclined to try to write more often. We shall see.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 6, 2014 9:25 pm

    I think I run more slowly in the daylight hours. Actually I know I do, FitBit tells me all. And I’m very jealous you could run today. I may be able to run Saturday morning, but probably not. All the snow & ice will need to melt and the forecast rain will need to not be here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

