Skip to content

Words

January 14, 2014

It’s been an aggravating start to the week, in many respects, mostly because of one person I’m currently working with on a project who is both duplicitous and downright mean. But at some point today I realized that mostly my job involves reading a lot of books I really like. So next time I’m feeling overworked, I’m going to remind myself that if, when I was a kid, someone had told me I not only got to spend this much time reading books I’m interested in but that I got paid for it, I would have kissed them.

Still, when I spend this much time reading big-brained books, I come home feeling like I need to deflate my head before I go to sleep. Last night I woke up at 3:00 a.m. on the dot (a fact I could ascertain only by squinting very hard at the clock a few inches from my nose, because the irony of reading a lot is your decreasing ability to read at all without many mechanical aids) thinking about Things. Things require thinking about only in the dead of night. It’s as if after running myself ragged in a day, I need time to unravel it all, and once that happens, I sit bolt upright in bed and think more about Things. I know I am not alone in this, but at 3:00 in the morning, you tend to feel rather alone when it happens. And if you’re like me, you wish very much that there were really such a thing as a pensieve. Or, barring that, the next best thing: a glass of bourbon.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2014 10:31 pm

    I’m sorry it’s been a frustrating week so far! I hope it gets better; I am sending good thoughts your way.

  2. January 14, 2014 10:35 pm

    Thank you! We miss you! It is much less fun without you there!

  3. eleanorio permalink
    January 15, 2014 12:03 am

    I wake around 3:00 a.m. almost nightly. What is it about that hour? But my time for thinking about things is just when I lay my head on the pillow, keeping me awake listening to my husband snore, which keeps me more awake. Even ear plugs don’t help much these days.

  4. January 15, 2014 6:54 am

    Do you find your brain sorting through those issues when you run? I know that’s what my brain does, almost without me knowing. It’s as though the distraction of paying attention to the road and environment distracting my thinking self enough that it can get down to business. I’ve solved all sorts of things while out for a run.

    (tell me I’m not weird because I do this . . . )

  5. freshhell permalink
    January 15, 2014 7:57 pm

    2:00am is when I wake up and the worry cycle begins. It’s crazy making but I have to let it run its course. Which usually happens around 3:00am. Perhaps you are my pensieve! I’ve emptied my brain and it all has to go somewhere.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

