Skip to content

Take ink and weep

February 16, 2014

We had a short-lived break in the cold and snow a week or two ago and while it wasn’t enough to be much of a respite for the humans, the birds seem to have taken it as a sign that spring may be on the way at some time to be named later. On the few mornings when it’s not snowing, it is lighter when I leave and more twittery. One tiny sparrow has laid claim to the fragment of visible windowsill next to the air conditioner. Wedged between the pigeon spikes and the AC, he sits and sings several times a day. I love that he’s there, maybe especially because the perch looks so inhospitable. I’ve taken to peering at him through the blinds and he’s taken to cocking his head and looking back at me, not pausing his song once. He is inches from my face and I can see every tiny feather on his back.

I am about to embark on some crazy travel — not super far, not like my brother who emailed me from Ougagadougou this morning, which has me wandering around chanting it. Could you ask for a better name of anything? Or spelling? — four states in three weeks and I’m getting tired just thinking about it. Consequently I’m already contemplating a nap at 11 am when really I should be contemplating packing or the books I’m supposed to be reviewing or the proofreading I have to do.

There’s not much I can say about work at the moment, but it is, for a number of reasons, pretty much all I can think about, which makes it challenging to write here. I have been distracting myself with the Olympics. I am an Olympics junkie in general, but most especially the Winter Olympics. Of the many things I’m enjoying this year, the women athletes are maybe the thing I like the most. There’s been plenty of sexism in the coverage, but the athletes are strong, talented, beautiful, inspiring and good sports. I love watching them support each other, watching them get up smiling even when they lose. I love that it looks like they are both trying really hard and also having a good time. They make being athletic look cool. If the Olympics had been more like this when I was a kid, I wondered if I would have made more of an effort to be athletic.

Still, the nap is sounding like an excellent idea. There’s something to be said for watching other people be athletic.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2014 3:57 pm

    I feel your fatigue. I lay down for a nap this afternoon when I know there is much to be done with my eyes open. They can wait. I would rather sleep.

  2. freshhell permalink
    February 17, 2014 6:49 pm

    I see your fatigue and raise you one. Or two. So ready for this winter to be OVER.

  3. February 18, 2014 5:19 pm

    I love the Olympics, too.

  4. February 19, 2014 10:52 am

    Birds, like my former pet rabbit, take their cues from the extended daylight. It used to pain me that he would begin shedding his winter coat in late February/early March, because it was often still so cold then.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

