Skip to content

Wakarusa

September 3, 2008

Our contractor showed up this morning at 8:30, dropped off some equipment, told us he was picking up his helper and he’d be right back. It is now 1 p.m. Is he here? No, of course not. Nothing has happened since Saturday. There is still a giant muddy hole in my yard. I am trying to take a zen approach. It’s very big of me, because there’s nothing I can do about it.

In other Spy family news, AJ got his first spelling list of the year — from his teacher. There are twice as many words as last year and they are much tougher than I expected and are drawn from their current science unit on geology:

investigating
tuff
basalt
scoria
boulders
cobblestones
erosion
geologists
granite
obsidian
pebbles
sandstone
diamond
concrete
glacier
mica

And I should point out here that there are several words I did not know. Fortunately, AJ did. He is well versed in the various forms of volcanic rock But can he spell them? That remains to be seen. He’ll be making flash cards and a crossword puzzle tonight. But I think there’s no question that his teacher is providing him with enough challenge in this area. We are off to a good start.

And remember the big hole in our back yard with the stream at the bottom? Well, it came in handy for explaining “erosion” to AJ. Last night, he had to write five sentences using his spelling words. One of them was “Streams running over pebbles cause erosion.”

AJ has found second grade to be much more school like. There are more books, more homework, more worksheets, more rigor. Mostly he seems to like it. He’s struggling with the schedule imposed by the school/football combo. He has no time to himself, something that no Spy can deal with without a certain amount of crankiness. May I just say one more time that sports for seven-year-olds should not require a 4-6 day a week commitment? Thank you.

And now that I have done griping for the moment, let us turn to the meme Amblus created yesterday.

Something Weird I’ve Discovered:

This is not recent, but I will never forget as a kid (I don’t remember how old) discovering the following weird property of 9s when I was left alone with a calculator and nothing to do. When my calculator ran out of digits, I figured it out by hand:

9×9=81
99×99=9,801
999×999=998,001
9,999×9,999=99,980,001
99,999×99,999=9,999,800,001
etc.

Of course, I think the weird part about this is that I was doing this for fun. I do, however, think it may be an argument for making sure kids don’t have too much to do. I’m sure this was more constructive in the long run than, say 12 hours of football practice.

Three Sounds I Really Love:

1. AJ’s laugh when I’m tickling him and he hasn’t gotten the hiccups.

2. Thunder far away

3. The crackling of a fire

This week, though, I might add a fourth thing — the sound of people doing work in my back yard. And lo, the contractor has arrived! I hear the siren song of a backhoe destroying my garden!

The Best Part of my Weekday Morning:

Walking to school with AJ and looking at all the interesting things we see on the way.

The Best Part of my Night:

The minutes after I’ve read to AJ and turned out the lights when he asks, “Mommy, can we just talk about stuff?” Because inevitably, that is when all the best stuff gets talked about.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    September 3, 2008 12:25 pm

    Fire and thunder, those are good ones. Also, one of the nice things about being at work all day is that I don’t pace the floors stewing over contractors’ whereabouts. I get to wait until dinnertime to discover that not a damn thing got done.

  2. crankygirl permalink
    September 3, 2008 2:35 pm

    I like those words…very impressive. And 9s are the best thing ever. Good thing I analyze data for a living, since that is such a scary statement.

  3. September 3, 2008 6:52 pm

    I wasn’t familiar with”scoria” but I did pretty well. Pook’s teacher gives a weekly spelling pretest and anyone with 80% or above gets a different list to learn for Friday.

    I was sad the evening before my tenth birthday because I knew I’d never be single digits again. I already had learned the magic of nines.

    Fall baseball has a practice every Sat. and a game every Sun. Manageable.

    My contractor’s dad still isn’t dead. (Ha! Never used that combination of words before!)

  4. lemming permalink
    September 4, 2008 5:52 am

    Echolocation

Leave a Reply

