Skip to content

Home

August 17, 2009

• We are back. Our flight was delayed thanks to storms in Chicago last night, but in the end, we weren’t that late.

• I finished J. Courtney Sullivan’s Commencement, which I enjoyed immensely because it was set at my alma mater (which the author also attended). She nailed the culture and dropped many references that made me nostalgic. At the same time, I kept wondering why on earth anyone who didn’t attend this particular school would read it, because that was pretty much the best part. I wouldn’t have picked it up otherwise.

• We arrived home to find a notable lack of disasters, except, perhaps, for the fact that one marshy part of our yard was now bone dry, which probably means problems with our septic field probably caused by the botched job last summer. I am putting my fingers in my ears and pretending I know nothing about it.

• Mrs. Stein is beyond happy to see me and has not let me more than a foot away from her since I got home. She is purring like an engine at all times. I hope she is not crushed when I leave in a few minutes for yoga class.

• This morning I was in Santa Fe. Now I am heading to the last yoga class taught by one of my favorite teachers before she moves to the Santa Fe area. It feels like vacation closure.

• More soon…with pictures!

One Comment leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    August 18, 2009 7:50 am

    Welcome home! Maybe if you get a job in Santa Fe, you can get your old yoga teacher back!

Leave a Reply

