Skip to content

Jiggity jog

August 18, 2009

I dreamed of the mountains last night, dreamed of walking out the door of my parents’ house and seeing the world fall away on all sides, of the full globe of the sky full of stars over my head. Coffee this morning wasn’t quite the same. My house looks shabbier and more neglected on our return, but I also have more motivation to do something about it. This is the first truly relaxing vacation we’ve had in a long, long, LONG time. Last time we tried to take a vacation, we came home to find large trees fallen all over our yard. It’s nice to have the option of bringing the vacation back home, at least for a little while.

It must have been hot while we were gone, because my tomato plants doubled in size. Seriously. DOUBLED. They are now taller than I am (and I am reasonably tall). They are covered in enormous grooved green tomatoes. My pole beans are going crazy and twirling all over the porch railing. We’ll be having some for dinner tonight. I walked out in the garden to stake them and discovered a volunteer impatiens that had sprung up underneath them. I like surprises. Last night I dodged going to the grocery store and we ate an enormous salad made from spinach, arugula and lettuce and tomatoes from the garden. It was perfect. This week I’ll be harvesting the rest of the beets and carrots and cutting down the pea vines, which are pretty much spent, to make way for broccoli, and new crops of beets and carrots. Time for another seed run. I’ll also be sowing new crops of salad greens, to replace the ones I cut down.

Mrs. Stein made rather a mess of the house while we were gone, so today will be spent cleaning up after her. I am trying to determine if she doesn’t like her litter box or if she has got some sort of artistic desire that she’s trying to work out. She left one pile of poop at the exact center of each of the squares of the rug in my office. She actually started doing this before we left, so it’s not about the cleanliness of the litterboxes. Besides, she’s still using them for peeing. I’m not sure what’s up. I’m hoping she was just picking up on pre-trip anxiety and will calm down now that we’re home. In the meantime, I have to barricade her in the laundry room at night, which I feel bad about, but which all the tomes on cat behavior say is the right thing to do. Mrs. Stein gets older and more crotchety with each passing day.

AJ and The Boy Across the Street cannot be separated this morning. They both came grocery shopping with me rather than be split up for even a minute. Needless to say, I forgot several things in the interest of preventing them from knocking people down by running races in the aisles of Trader Joe’s.

And now that I have bored you to death with talk of my garden, my children and cat shit art, I will cut this mercifully short.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 12:36 pm

    I adore Mrs. Stein (but not the artwork).

  2. freshhell permalink
    August 18, 2009 1:00 pm

    I took Red grocery shopping with me and had to keep her from a) being run over by every cart, b) knocking down every aisle obstruction and c) being smacked in the face by every stupid coupon holder that stuck out from the shelves. Thought I would lose my mind. Sigh.

  3. August 18, 2009 1:16 pm

    Diane, I feel similarly about Mrs. Stein. And her artwork. Freshhell, it was, for me, a toss up. If I’d taken AJ alone, I would have had to endure excessive whining. At least this way he was entertained. And no shoppers were harmed, so I guess it’s win-win. Except for those who wanted cold cuts for lunch (hint: not me).

  4. August 18, 2009 2:09 pm

    When I was pregnant, someone gave me a list of things to do to prepare, including how to prepare to go to the grocery store with a child in tow…the list suggested taking a live goat.

    Mrs. Stein’s signs of displeasure sound almost as bad as trees in the yard…you MUST have become really relaxed!

  5. teranika permalink
    August 18, 2009 4:05 pm

    Actually from the books that I’ve read, Mrs. Stein’s expressions of displeasure could also be a sign of illness. Might want to check with a vet to make sure she is just being artistic (or not).

  6. August 19, 2009 7:50 pm

    my tomatoes are beyond sad. even though i bought fancy heirloom plants we got the blight. bummed.

Leave a Reply

