Skip to content

Estuary

August 19, 2009

After a summer of working primarily out of my bedroom, I’m anxious to start getting out more. The Boy Across the Street spirited AJ away to his grandmother’s pool for lunch, swimming, and baseball with his friends. After noticing a sign that Barnes and Noble has started offering free wireless, I decided to head there this afternoon.

The music is less than inspirational (especially since they’ve just played the same vapid song (breathy girl singer) eight times in succession – how can people stand to work here?), but there are comfy chairs and it’s quieter than the library (except for the music, of course). And there are always headphones (A little Guided By Voices never hurt anyone). And also books. And coffee, as needed.

I am enjoying my new computer immensely. I feel kind of like I’ve made a miraculous recovery from a severe illness. I’d learned all sorts of weird tricks to be able to work without my full faculties. But having a machine that does what it is supposed to is extremely exciting. I’m still struggling with a few things. I’m having problems with the clock, which keeps resetting itself to Greenwich Mean Time, no matter what I do. This, in turn, resets the clocks on the iPods I link up to. Seeing as I don’t currently own a working watch and confounded by my change in time zones a couple of days ago, I pretty much never have any idea what time it is. I’m not entirely sorry about that. But I do have some appointments to keep today.

The most important one is my date with AJ at 4:00 to walk up to his school for the annual posting of the class lists. After months of waiting and wondering, we will find out who his teacher for the next year is and who will be in his class. Last year I didn’t have any strong feelings about teachers because I didn’t know anything about any of them. This year I don’t have any strong feelings because I know all of them a little and they all seem to be pretty decent (although not spectacular). AJ, however, is very much hoping for Mr. H, the only male classroom teacher in the school. The only other adult males who work at AJ’s school who have contact with students are, stereotypically, the gym teacher and the principal. I think the fact that he is a man is why AJ wants to be there. I like Mr. H, but I don’t have a good read on him. I know from helping his class in the library last year that he runs a tight ship, but through a calm manner and high expectations, not through yelling. He has a bedtime story voice and appears self-effacing, but his class was far and away the bet behaved in the school.

The other teacher I worked with on occasion in the library is Mrs. S. She’s probably my least favorite choice for AJ, but she’s also the teacher I know least well. She’s very nice, but her class was a bit unruly and she seems to be a little burnt out, although not in the angry, embittered way of AJ’s kindergarten teacher. More in the not always paying attention way.

Another possibility is Mrs. E. She has taught third grade at this school for a long time. But last year, she bumped down to second when the school to deal with the weird demographics at the school which has nearly 30 more students in AJ’s year than in the year above him. She’ll be moving back to third with us. Mrs. E intrigues me. People seem to either love her or hate her. She is probably about my age, thin and stylish (for an elementary school teacher, at least) and very energetic. She looks like a French teacher I once had in middle school. I like her energy – something the other two third grade teachers lack, at least on first impression.

So who will it be? What will the year be like?

It’s a mystery.

And here’s a funnier mystery:

10 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    August 19, 2009 1:28 pm

    Oh, BERTIE! Well, good luck! Let us know the answer as soon as you can. I have to wait two more weeks to discover who Red’s teacher will be.

  2. crankygirl permalink
    August 19, 2009 2:25 pm

    Love that Hugh Laurie song–it always makes me laugh. Hope the teacher choice works out the way AJ wants. Male teachers are always a novelty in elementary school.

  3. August 19, 2009 2:44 pm

    “thin and stylish (for an elementary school teacher, at least)” Hey! Who says a teacher can’t be a runway model on the side! From someone who knows how gorgeous and stylish I am, I’m shocked by you.

  4. August 19, 2009 4:32 pm

    Mrs. S it is! She’s the biggest wild card. We’ll meet her at back to school night next on Monday. The Boy Across The Street is in his class, as his good friend N, who is a nice kid but seems to get AJ in trouble a lot. I worry about behavior issues a little, but there’s no question he’s going to have a good time. Most of his good friends are in his class. More later — right now, dinner then football.

  5. freshhell permalink
    August 19, 2009 5:17 pm

    Hmm. Well, I hope she ends up being okay.

  6. August 19, 2009 7:49 pm

    Hmm, we got our teacher assignments and class lists by mail. I kind of like the idea of going over and reading a posted list…

  7. August 19, 2009 8:17 pm

    It’s really fun. They post it simultaneously on line, but it’s kind of a party on the steps of the school and a lot of us love to go in person. The kids look forward to it every year. AJ’s grade was particularly well represented. They were all shrieking and hugging each other as they saw each other for the first time in weeks. It’s nice to have it be an event. AJ, who’s been grumpy about school starting, is all excited about it now. It’s kind of a nice beginning.

  8. August 19, 2009 10:06 pm

    I would have thought the list would be online, but it’s really cool that they still post it on the doors. Hope AJ gets a good teacher for him.

  9. August 20, 2009 9:35 am

    When they started posting the lists on line a few years ago, I think the idea was that they would stop posting it on the school. But posting day is kind of a tradition and I’m glad the school has recognized that and kept posting the lists on the school doors.

  10. August 20, 2009 10:03 am

    Katie has the same teacher in 2nd grade as she does in 1st. Plus she gets to start the G&T program. Yay!

Leave a Reply

