Skip to content

Enlisted

August 20, 2009

Yesterday afternoon, AJ called me from a friend’s house. “Could I go with Ben Franklin Boy’s mom to school?” He was playing with his three best buddies from the neighborhood, The Boy Across the Street, Ben Franklin Boy and M, who gets short shrift in the pseudonym department. How could I say no? But in truth, I was a little disappointed that they would be going together and, more importantly, not with me. I love list-posting day.

I sat around and sulked for a full ten minutes before deciding to hop on my bike and ride up there anyway. And there I was met with nearly as much enthusiasm by the other parents I know. We spend so much time standing around playgrounds together during the school year that we miss each other by fall too.

The kids were buzzing with excitement, hopping back and forth from one foot to the next as they stared at the glass windows where the lists would be posted any minute. Every few minutes, someone new would wander up and they would be met with shrieks and giggles. AJ’s friend N walked up with one of his sisters and a neighbor (his mom is out of town). AJ and his buddies yelled for him to come over and they took turns hugging him and picking him up off the ground. N is little and funny and the smiliest, most good-natured kid you’ll ever meet with a laugh so infectious that I suspect it could bring entire countries to their knees, if properly deployed. He’s kind of the mascot or good luck charm for the third grade.

And then the lists went up and the mobs moved forward, scanning for their names. AJ was hoping for Mr. H, but got Mrs. S. He wasn’t too disappointed thought, because “I heard she’s really nice.” I’m sure the fact that N and The Boy Across the Street and his other friend NS are all in his class, as is his complete Cub Scout cohort. The Girl Next Door is not in the same class this year. The Boy Next Door, Ben Franklin Boy and M were a little disappointed. They’ve all been in class together for the last two years and they split them up across the three English-speaking third grade classes. But AJ is very excited.

His new teacher has won me over too. I opened the mailbox this afternoon and discovered that she’d sent AJ a postcard covered in smiley faces.

“Dear AJ,” it said.”Welcome to 3rd grade! I look forward to having you in my class. Please bring your favorite book on the first day of school. See you soon! Love, Mrs. S.” AJ has spent the afternoon trying to figure out which book to bring.

It’s good that he’s had something to do, because he’s been stuck in the house all day. Maybe it was meeting with all those kids he hadn’t seen all summer that did it. Or maybe it was the junk food he may or may not have eaten at his friend’s house. But at 2:30 in the morning, he came into my room to tell me he didn’t feel well. He spent the next half an hour on the bathroom floor. Nothing like a middle of the night barf-fest to really make you feel like a parent. He’s feeling somewhat better — no fever, just a little queasy. But he doesn’t look quite like himself today, so I’ve kept him in. He must be feeling a little better, as he’s just come in to ask for sushi (by which he means cucumber rolls) for dinner. We may venture out for a piano lesson later, but I’ve kind of enjoyed a quiet day at home with him.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. The Lass permalink
    August 20, 2009 6:55 pm

    Older charge was very happy with the phone call he received today from his new teacher. “YES! She’s super nice!!!” His parents are pleased as well.

  2. freshhell permalink
    August 21, 2009 8:06 am

    Phone call! Wow. Never heard of that.

    I hope AJ’s better. That is never fun. For child or parent.

  3. August 21, 2009 8:41 am

    sushi after a puke fest? I hope you said no!

  4. August 21, 2009 8:44 am

    Half an hour and then no more episodes? It’s never fun, but that’s better than the rest of the night!

Leave a Reply

