Skip to content

Rocky Raccoon checked into his room

August 23, 2009

AJ’s first football game Saturday night did not start well, but they came back in the second half and ended up losing by one point and four inches. AJ played offense and tackled 7 guys (by which I mean he pulled their flags). We all have mixed feelings about the flag league. On the one hand, it’s nice that it’s so much less intense and less time-consuming than last year’s tackle league. On the other hand, its lack of intensity means the games aren’t quite as exciting to watch. But they are a lot shorter.

This morning, Mr. Spy woke up feeling ghastly, so I took AJ to his football pictures solo and watched him try for the punt, pass and kick contest (results as yet unannounced), bought him lunch, and dragged him to the store to find a present for a birthday party he has to go to tomorrow. It is officially the last day of summer vacation. A birthday party seems like a good way to end it.

Afterwards, I dropped AJ off at a friend’s house and came home to mow the lawn. Mowing the lawn at our house is a huge job. Not only do we have a pretty big lawn, but it’s on a steep hill with a marshy area at the bottom where the wheels tend to get stuck.. It’s a job that normally Mr. Spy does. He has more muscles than I do. I have, however, renewed appreciation for his work. I’m exhausted.

While I was mowing back by the waterfall, Mr. Spy stopped me and told me to watch out. I turned around and saw a small raccoon dragging himself up from the stream. He was exerting a great deal of effort. His back legs didn’t seem to be working properly and he was covered in buzzing flies. Never have I seen a creature that was so clearly dying. He dragged himself a couple of feet and then put his head down. Then he turned to look at me and I at him. His eyes were glazed, but he looked as if he were in great pain. I wish I could have done something to help him, or at least to put him out of his misery, but I knew I shouldn’t get too close. It is the only time I have wished I had a gun. He continued dragging himself around the waterfall and then back down into the jewelweed by the stream, stopping every foot or two to rest before continuing on his difficult journey. It was tragic to watch.

I’m now passed out and full of Thai food and wishing I had a beer.

How was your weekend?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2009 5:49 am

    I hope Mr. Spy recovers soon from whatever malaise has laid him low. I confess that I have never mowed a lawn with an electric mower. Brava! (Thanks for the anniversary greetings.)

  2. freshhell permalink
    August 24, 2009 7:38 am

    Only to find Gideon’s bible. I hate to see animals suffer but apart from getting too close to a possibly-rabid animal and smashing them with a shovel, what to do?

  3. August 24, 2009 8:32 am

    Your raccoon story is sad… I’m not sure what else you could have done other than let nature take its course.

    Our weekend was lovely. As you said, our climates tell it all. Our pool is only open weekends now (since school started) and closes after Labor Day. Every year we complain that the weather is still hot, but when the nights cool, so does the water and really, we wouldn’t enjoy swimming for much longer anyway.

    And baseball… well, I love fall ball here. We have an instructional league in the fall, only 10 weeks with Sat practice Sun games, done by Halloween. The weather is awesome for it- whereas the football players in the nearby fields look really hot in all their pads.

    So, my weekend was awesome and now I’m waiting for our favorite handyman (really) to show up to install my *new* dishwasher! Whoo Hoo!

  4. August 24, 2009 1:53 pm

    Jill, I nearly forgot that there will be fall ball here this year too. It’s just one day a week (in order to fit the insane football schedule that wipes out this town in the fall)with a little practice before a game each week, also fairly non-competitive. This is the first year AJ has been eligible. It’s supposed to start next weekend, but we’ve heard nothing and fear it may be canceled for lack of participation. But AJ is ever hopeful. As for the dishwasher, I’m insanely jealous. Our dishwasher broke 6 years ago and I’ve been doing without ever since. Mostly I don’t miss it except when we have company and also when someone is sick (as now). Someday. Someday when I’m not trying to finance rerouting streams and crumbling roofs. Boy, do I wish I had a favorite handyman.

Leave a Reply

