Skip to content

It’s just that time of year when we push ourselves ahead

August 24, 2009

It’s the last day of summer vacation, but the craziness of the schedule is making it feel more like the first day of school. I taught water aerobics this morning with a new tape full of French pop with Dar Williams’ “The End of the Summer” tacked on during final cooldown, and then sprinted home for the Fastest Shower in the West (TM) before tearing to the next town over for a goodbye brunch for my yoga teacher and dear friend D who is moving to New Mexico on Wednesday. I am starting to take it personally, all these people I know who are moving to New Mexico. It is starting to seem like some kind of sign. We sat out on the terrace under umbrellas and ate our eggs and pancakes and talked until noon. I am very sad to see D go. She is, I think, a real kindred spirit. She is also probably the best yoga teacher I’ve ever had, although for reasons that have only partly to do with yoga but more to do with her warmth and ability to inspire. She has had a difficult time of it the last few years. I have a feeling this change is just what she needs. And although I’m sad for me, I’m very happy for her.

After brunch, I battled a freight train to make it home in time. Unfortunately, the freight train won and I was late. But I managed to get AJ to a birthday party at his friend N’s house only ten minutes late. He was very excited about seeing N again. N is his friend from preschool whose father died of cancer a few years ago. He’s only a few months younger than AJ, but because of school cutoff dates, he’s a year behind him in school and goes to a different school, so we don’t see him nearly as often as we would like.

It is a spectacular day — 77, sunny and breezy — the kind of day you rarely get in August around here. It hardly seems right to be sitting indoors on a day like this. I think I may need to find somewhere else to be until I need to pick up AJ.

Tonight is Back to School Night. After dinner, AJ and I will walk up to school to meet his new teacher, visit his classroom, and drop off his school supplies. Tomorrow morning, it all begins. My baby’s in third grade.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. crankygirl permalink
    August 24, 2009 3:04 pm

    That’s so funny–I think we used to have BTSN maybe 6 weeks AFTER school started. I hope AJ has a great year and lots of fun in GT.

  2. August 24, 2009 3:28 pm

    We had it week two
    Give AJ my standard morning wishes: Have fun, be good, learn something!”

  3. August 25, 2009 6:42 am

    Hope the first day of school goes well today!

  4. freshhell permalink
    August 25, 2009 8:05 am

    3rd grade. Yep – half their elementary career is over. A sobering thought. Hope he had a wonderful day and likes his new teacher.

  5. The Lass permalink
    August 25, 2009 9:31 am

    Happy Third Grade to AJ! Here’s to a stellar year for him.

Leave a Reply

