Skip to content

Duck, duck, duck…

September 1, 2009

It’s been a bullet point kind of day.

• I just finished merging 7 calendars into one and am feeling like I got run over by a truck immediately following a 3 hour calculus test. If I didn’t make any mistakes, it will be amazing. Also, if one kid makes my schedule look this terrifying, I can only imagine what happens when there are two. Or three. Or nineteen.

• AJ had his first gifted class yesterday. He is half of a class of two. You can read about it at AJ’s Clubhouse.

• If I hadn’t sworn off talking about the weather yesterday, I would have told you how incredibly gorgeous it is today, if only to let you know that I don’t always complain. Mr. Spy and I walked down to the river this morning to enjoy it and discovered that three creepy guys in waders had set up a duck blind, complete with Canada geese decoys, directly opposite our pier. Said Mr. Spy, “Surely they’re not using guns this close to people.” Yes, because hunters are known for their good sense. “No, I’m sure not,” I replied. “They’re probably using crossbows.” In any case, next time I go for a walk, I’ll probably be wearing safety orange.

• Once again, The Onion has taken a sad day and made it better. I have a feeling that no one else thinks this is as funny as I do, but having taught both before and after professors like this (and narrowly avoiding the label myself), it took great strength of character not to snort coffee through my nose while I read this.

• Time to pick up AJ. Where did the day go? I’d better leave soon if I’m going to feed my carrot tops to the horses on the way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 4:44 pm

    I had that calendar-merging fun in August and will never be the same. And oh dear, that professor who can’t figure out the AV equipment blathers on a little too close to home!

  2. freshhell permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:15 pm

    I’m am pretending there will be no calendar of events because I’m still on Summer Time. But, I’ll attend the Brownie planning meeting tomorrow and then Kindergarten Orientation on Thursday so it’ll be all over then.

  3. September 1, 2009 10:14 pm

    My sympathies to you for the calendar calculus. But it was indeed a beautiful a day, and I don’t mind when you talk about the weather. Maybe because I’m usually having the same weather.

  4. The Lass permalink
    September 2, 2009 8:32 am

    1. My sister has five kids (as you know). Harry left for DePaul this weekend, so that makes four. Her Dayminder scares me.

    2. Are there any laws that say those creeps shouldn’t have been set up so close to civilization? Be careful.

    3. The Onion is a wonderful thing.

    4. Off to read about AJ’s day.

Leave a Reply

