Skip to content

Gifted

September 3, 2009

I am having a jittery day. I’m not sure why. Some days are just like that. I’m drinking decaf, I swear! And I actually remembered to eat lunch. Even more amazing, I remembered to call my mom. It’s her birthday today. My present to her was a long phone conversation about contractors assorted books (including, but not limited to, works by Alice Hoffman, Tillie Olsen, and Arturo Perez-Reverte), AJ, New Mexico, gardening and philosophy papers we wrote in college. I love my mom. I am not a total cheapskate. I also got her a present — a new book by an author she likes. Although I should point out that she still hasn’t gotten me a birthday present (my birthday was a month ago). I come by my delinquency naturally.

And speaking of presents, I apparently won one from my favorite new blog read, Holly of Cold Spaghetti. Like me, she’s doing the parenting/dissertation double shift. Unlike me, she’s doing it in the chaos of post-Katrina New Orleans. She’s also extremely entertaining to read. Go pay her a visit!

In less happy news, I learned last night that a scholar I have worked with more and more lately died of cancer a couple of days ago. I first met her a number of years ago at a conference, when she grilled me for information following a paper I’d delivered and then proceeded to send me emails every now and then out of the blue with extremely helpful information. All my copies of her books and article are well thumbed. Recently we’ve both been working on papers on the same ensemble from different angles and have been comparing notes and exchanging primary documents. She has been both a mentor and an inspiration and I was very sorry to hear the news. In a slightly creepy bit of coincidence, I’d been composing an email to her when the news came in, the first one I’d written to her in a couple of months. I hadn’t realized she’d been so ill. She was in her 70s, but always seemed to be a ball of energy with a firy personality and endless curiosity about the things she studied. I didn’t imagine I wouldn’t have another chance to talk to her. I will miss her. The letter is still sitting in my outbox and will probably stay there for some time. It doesn’t seem right to delete it.

I’ve got a stack of interesting projects by my elbow and it’s time I got back to them so I can make some headway before AJ and his friend N come over and distract me with the infectious giggling that always colors N’s visits. It will be a good way to spend an afternoon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 7:02 pm

    I have lots of people in my address book that are no longer around. I hate to delete someone.

  2. The Lass permalink
    September 4, 2009 9:33 am

    I am sorry for the unexpected bad news.

    But glad for the interesting projects.

Leave a Reply

