Skip to content

Go ahead. Make. My. Day.

September 8, 2009

First of all, I would like to thank the many people who sent me the link to the many people who drew my attention to this cartoon yesterday. It was perfect. And I also owe an extra shout out to Mr. Unfocused, who added the following annotation to the cartoon, which made me snort coffee through my nose: “I came to kick ass and eat tomato sandwiches. And I’m all out of tomatoes.”

If I do decide to take the Harriet the Spy persona that particular route, I think I need to visit this place. Hell, I think I need to visit that place anyway. Who doesn’t need superhero supplies? Fortunately, I can go to their website any time I want. And so can you.

So far I have utilized the following superpowers today.

• Supercheapskate. After making up my grocery list and once again falling into the maelstrom of money worries, I decided to do an experiment. Usually I alternate trips between the local supermarket and Trader Joe’s. Today it was time for the supermarket, but the supermarket is expensive, so instead I thought I’d try a discount grocery chain run by the people who own TJ’s and an evil conglomerate store that we’ll call Mall Wart. It was more time consuming than my usual trip and definitely not as pleasant. But at the same time, it was a lot less unpleasant than I thought it would be. I ran into a bunch of friends at Mall Wart and the people who worked there seemed to be going out of their way to be pleasant and efficient. Pretty much the complete opposite of all previous experiences with that store. The upshot, though, is that I spent less than $100 for all the things on my list, which is somewhere between $50 and $75 less than I would have spent at my usual store.

• Supersloth. I’ve spent most of my writing day sitting on my bed with my laptop. Because I can.

• Supermom. I managed to make AJ a lunch that he doesn’t hate on THE VERY FIRST TRY.

I’m still in need of some super flying skills. And a little x-ray vision wouldn’t hurt either. And maybe the ability to make the thousand and one tomatoes on my vines turn red. Because the funny thing is, I really AM all out of tomatoes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    September 8, 2009 2:41 pm

    Awesome. I need to see if that store carries Mojo Jojo costumes because that’s what Red wants to be for Halloween and I do not sew. I am impressed with your thumbs up lunch prowess. I don’t want to hear about your slothness, though.

  2. September 8, 2009 4:26 pm

    I am convinced that all moms/parents have superpowers. I am able to convince children to eat just about anything and to put them to bed before bedtime without their knowing– even the one who tells time. I am not sure of my superheroine name, but I know my powers are not ordinary. Love, love the series about Ordinary Boy.
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_1_12?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=ordinary+boy+series&sprefix=ordinary+boy

  3. September 8, 2009 4:41 pm

    I am not familiar with Ordinary Boy. I will have to check him out. I wish I had the superpower to get AJ to eat almost anything. That’s another one I need to put on my shopping list for the superpowers store. As for Mojo Jojo, it seems to me that an Aladdin costume plus a gorilla mask might do the trick.

  4. The Lass permalink
    September 8, 2009 6:59 pm

    Older charge’s turkey sandwich with mayo came home uneaten today – when his mom asked him why, he said, “I just liked that over the weekend. I want cheese sandwiches again.”

  5. freshhell permalink
    September 9, 2009 7:42 am

    That’s what Red does! She LOVES something once and only once and is mortally offended if you put it on her plate. “I don’t want that on my plate!” Excuse me?

  6. readersguide permalink
    September 9, 2009 2:14 pm

    It was a day for (super)heroes yesterday. Funny —

Leave a Reply

