Skip to content

Eek.

September 23, 2009

Just got a request for a phone interview (I’ve never done a phone interview. Are they scary?) for a job application I sent out a mere 5 hours ago. Eek. And also yay. If I do say so myself, that cover letter kicked ass. I take back all the cursing I did at the online application system. So, a little progress made.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    September 23, 2009 5:24 pm

    I’ve done them before. Not too scary just prepare as best you can. Remember why you want that job and then relax. You can wear pajamas at a phone interview. Best of luck!!

  2. September 23, 2009 9:29 pm

    Yay! Yes, relax. But also, wear something that makes you feel confident. If that’s pajamas, more power to you.

  3. Eleanor permalink
    September 24, 2009 7:11 am

    Congrats! You’ll be great.

  4. The Lass permalink
    September 24, 2009 8:40 am

    Phone interviews are not scary. You’re smart, you’ll be in a comfortable surrounding, and as Julia said, you can do it in your jim-jams!

  5. crankygirl permalink
    September 24, 2009 9:23 am

    I agree that they aren’t scary. I also think that they are a smart idea for everyone so they don’t have to make you come to their office until they are sure that they are interested.

  6. September 24, 2009 10:11 am

    I love phone interviews, for the reason the Lass said. You can do them very comfortably, unlike when I wear a suit and tie and sweat through it all in 5 minutes.

    I am sure you’ll be great. Are you looking all over the place? I think Mr. Spy is mobile, correct?

  7. September 24, 2009 10:19 am

    Good luck!

  8. readersguide permalink
    September 24, 2009 2:14 pm

    Yay!

  9. teranika permalink
    September 24, 2009 3:27 pm

    Yes, congrats!!! I’ve done them before. The first ones were a bit nerve-racking, but like all interviews, you get better at them! (I did my last one with a glass of wine in my hand.) They are a great idea to let both parties know if it is worth a more formal interview at a later stage. Just keep remembering that this is the purpose. I’m also certain you’ll be just fine!

  10. September 24, 2009 3:33 pm

    Thanks all! It went okay, I think. More soon.

Leave a Reply

