Skip to content

Hey ya

October 6, 2009

I’m taking my interview suit out for as stroll this morning. It’s not for an actual job interview. Rather, I’m meeting with the director of career planning (not his actual title) at the university for which I had a phone interview two weeks ago. This is not related to that interview, other than that I am interested in the possibility of working for this particular institution, which is at an interesting juncture at the moment. The guy is a colleague of Mr. Spy’s and he’s giving me 45 minutes of his time as a favor to him, so I’m hoping to make the most of it. I have several items on my agenda, and I think he has some items on his. I’d like to focus on how best to market myself as someone who’s been pursuing two different careers at the same time and, more importantly, as someone who’s been out of the work place for quite a while. I feel these things currently look like a liability on my resume, but I don’t think they have to. I’m hoping for some resume critique and to talk about how I might get my foot in the door at his particular institution.

This afternoon is the first meeting of AJ’s chess club followed, after a dinner break, by the first meeting of his book club at the public library. I’ve been worried that AJ would feel like it’s too much, but he announced, after I reminded him of the post-school schedule, “This day is going to be SO much fun!” I’ve volunteered to help out at the chess club today and possibly into the future, pending the job situation. I’m hoping I can keep an eye on things and learn a little more about chess myself. I’m trying to remind myself that AJ’s attitude is one I might emulate. “This day is going to be so much fun” is my mantra for the next couple of hours. I feel good in my suit. It just might work – as long as I don’t twist my ankle in my heels.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. The Lass permalink
    October 6, 2009 10:47 am

    Hope the meeting is productive and yes, that it is a day full of so much fun! I like that attitude.

  2. freshhell permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:06 am

    Good luck and break a leg! Not an ankle.

  3. crankygirl permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:27 am

    Let us know what happens.

  4. readersguide permalink
    October 6, 2009 2:25 pm

    Go Harriet!

  5. readersguide permalink
    October 6, 2009 2:25 pm

    Shake it like a polaroid picture!

  6. October 6, 2009 2:28 pm

    Hey, at least you get a dinner break! And I like that mantra; I think I’ll adopt it, too.

  7. October 6, 2009 7:56 pm

    Thanks for all your good wishes. I’ll post about the interview and AJ’s first lesson with a chess grandmaster later. Readersguide, Your second post made me laugh, because I had trouble deciphering that particular lyric the first time I heard the song. It now gets sung with a variety of ridiculous lyrics, e.g.: “Shake it like a celluloid feature,” “like a null and void creature,” “a paranoid preacher,” etc. I’m open to suggestions for further variations.

Leave a Reply

