Skip to content

Little Miss Muffet

October 27, 2009

After weeks of agonizing, I finally bit the bullet and signed up for new internet/phone/tv service. I hope I don’t regret it. As if to underscore that it was, indeed, the right time to do this, the internet has been running at such an excruciatingly slow speed that it took me the better part of two hours to complete the transaction. During that time I was also reading, writing, washing dishes and doing laundry while I waited for the hamsters inside my modem to turn their wheel. Do you think I should be feeding them some Red Bull or something?

AJ has his nose back to the grindstone this week. He’s working on two different independent projects this week, which is challenging his time management skills. I’m trying not to get too involved, but he really doesn’t know how to plan. And even though we sat down and wrote out the steps he needs to follow on his calendar, he is still bewildered at times. However, he is drawing an awesome poster of the most enormous black widow spider you ever saw. Meanwhile, I am secretly grateful that he chose the poster rather than the spider model, suitable for stashing in dark corners of the house. Did you know they have CLAWS? 8 of them. I’ve always been fairly fond of spiders, so long as they weren’t too big and hairy. But having been introduced to their assorted body parts, well, I might be a little less friendly to them next time they turn up in the corner of the bathroom.

This afternoon AJ I will be accompanying AJ to chess club and then to his first piano lesson in a couple of months. The thought was that doubling up his activities leaves more free days. I hope this was a good idea. That’s all I got today, internet. My brain hurts. I’d better try to do something useful with it before it decides to call it a day.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    October 27, 2009 2:32 pm

    I like spiders, too, but I don’t like finding those really big ones lurking near my bed. I can’t bring myself to kill them – that’s just mean – but I do catch and release.

    Your hamster-run internet sounds like what we dealt with when we still had the dial-up service. Six years of that shit was enough.

  2. October 27, 2009 2:41 pm

    Pook is balancing two projects at all times this year. With the first one, I pulled out a calendar and wrote the due date. Then I asked him to spell out the steps needed to complete it. We counted them and wrote them on the calendar, from end to present, leaving weekends and Fridays free. Suddenly he realized he needed to start right away and not in two weeks. The To Do calendar is getting stashed with the homework agenda planner.

  3. October 27, 2009 2:44 pm

    I am all for catch and release with spiders too. The thing that’s most frustrating is that this is DSL, not dialup. And it worked fine until a month or two ago. I suspect the modem, which has been in continuous operation for 7+ years, is on its way out. Jill, we did exactly the same thing, but it is not sinking in. I can only hope it improves with time. He is an organizationally challenged kid.

  4. freshhell permalink
    October 27, 2009 2:53 pm

    I have a suspicision Red will be the same way with school projects. Dusty’s always on top of things even when she groans about doing something. Red can’t even be bothered to learn her lunch number. We have the sheet up on the wall in the kitchen where she can see it but she doesn’t care.

  5. October 27, 2009 5:02 pm

    CLAWS??? I do not like spiders. I go all girly when I see a big one indoors (I know it’s not rational to fear the bigger ones more, but that’s how it is). What I hate most is scooping the cats’ litter boxes and a big wolf spider jumps out at me. Because I’m always barefoot in the house and some of those suckers are too big to fit under a shoe, anyway.

  6. October 27, 2009 6:44 pm

    I’m with Jeanne. CLAWS??? Glad you’re getting faster internet. My picture-heavy blog must have been killing you.

Leave a Reply

