Skip to content

The greatest day I’ve never known

October 28, 2009

Today’s post is brought to you by insomnia and a meme that made it possible to post at all. Some days I need suggestions, and today is definitely one of those days. If *you* have any suggestions, then leave them in the comments. That might help me out tomorrow. I am hoping that my brain will return to its post following the latest spate of work, Halloween shenanigans and the arrival of the new internet service on Tuesday (supposedly — I’ll believe it when I see it).

As for the meme, I’ve seen it a number of places and I don’t remember them all, but I do remember reading one version at the internet residence of Poppy Buxom.

Today I am…

…reading too many things that I’ve written and read too many times before, namely dissertation chapters, an article, and various versions of my resumé. I am boring myself to death. In compensation, later I will be reading Carolyn Chute’s, The School on Heart’s Content Road, which is many things, but definitely not boring. It’s messy and chaotic, but one of the most original pieces of writing I’ve ever seen. And yet I’m still not entirely sure if I like it.

…listening to the baseball game and wondering at what point Star Wars became the official soundtrack of the World Series.

…watching my computer screen. And the skies. In case of UFOs, I don’t wish to be caught by surprise. One can never be too careful.

…eating a bowl of tofu, cabbage and brown rice, which probably sounds like a punishing diet, but is actually one of my favorite comfort food meals. Mr. Spy is working tonight, so I can be vegan all by my lonesome.

…drinking cheap and surprisingly tasty Chilean white wine.

…making myself finish a couple of job applications tonight. Even though I really. Don’t. Want. To.

…waiting for Mr. Spy to come home.

…wondering if there will ever be any flu vaccine out here. I’m also wondering whether a nation having so much trouble distributing flu vaccine can actually handle national health care. Although I’m hoping to God they figure something out.

…hoping one of these jobs pans out.

…thinking about what AJ and I are going to do while Mr. Spy is out of town this weekend.

What about you?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 3:23 pm

    I am mourning a dead parakeet. We’ve had a lot of small pets, so we’ve had a lot of pet funerals over the years. I’d be interested in hearing what traditions other people have at their pet funerals. Our main one is saying something we’ll miss about the pet.

  2. October 29, 2009 3:52 pm

    I am very sorry to hear about your parakeet. We’ve never gone in for anything formal. When Mr. Stein died, I said a few words to myself when I buried him, but no one else was in mourning so a funeral didn’t seen appropriate. And we haven’t gotten too attached to any of the short-lived fish who’ve wandered through our lives. When I was a senior in high school, we had to put down our dog of many years, who was dying of bone cancer. That shook us all up, but even then we didn’t do anything formal. But we did spend a lot of time sitting around and talking about him. Come to think of it, we still talk about him when we’re together. And he’s been dead for over 20 years.

  3. Nathan Gray permalink
    September 9, 2010 7:44 pm

    You sound like me. Fun days. Why do we wait until the end of the day to read something interesting? Oh and those jobs never pan out. It’s always something you weren’t expecting that comes through.

Leave a Reply

