Skip to content

Simmering

November 3, 2009

It is a very exciting day here at Spy headquarters, which just means that we’ve achieved some interpersonal communication with people who do not live here, a small amount of new technology and enough separate events to fill up a day on a very small calendar that fits in my pocket. So really, not exciting at all to normal people.

The job interview went well this morning. Very well, I think. For one thing, I walked up to the desk where three of the children’s librarians were sitting and they all acted excited to see me. One of them, the one who lives up the street from me, went to get the person who was interviewing me. I’ve never had an interview with someone I know even a little bit, so it was, dare I say it, fun. And totally not stressful. I went with the suit, by the way. But I tried to dress it down a little. I think it was the right choice. Also, it’s freezing today and I was glad to have a jacket.

I talked with the librarian for about a half an hour. The job sounds great. The quirky schedule is weirdly perfect for me. And it sounds like I would be able to bring some of my interests into it, tailoring some of the things I would do to things I’d like to try. And I could bike to work when it’s not freezing out. I don’t want to say any more because I don’t want to jinx anything. The job post will be up for another couple of weeks, and they won’t make decisions until then. But I’m hopeful. Hopeful, that is, when I’m not beating myself up.

The other big excitement today is that the new internet connection was installed. Gone is the powered-by-hamsters modem. Now we have an alarming number of wires lurking behind the TV, but it’s lightning fast. And we have a DVR. Not that we know how to use it. Because, as Freshhell, Lass and Dr. Geek have pointed out elsewhere, we are secretly Amish in our house.

And now, even though it’s only 1:30, I have to go make dinner. Why? Because through the random rescheduling of assorted events, once a month every activity he does meets on Tuesday evenings. So we go straight from school to chess club without a break. Then we go to piano with about 25 minutes sitting time in between in which he’ll do his homework. Then we’ll inhale some dinner (hastily reheated) and head to book club at the library. But this is probably just as well, because I can guarantee you if he came home, all he’d be doing is badgering me to let him play with the new TV remote. Ordinarily Mr. Spy would probably volunteer to make dinner, but he is feeling lousy today, so I’m trying to spare him. Plus I made a particularly fabulous batch of chicken stock yesterday with assorted peelings and chicken necks (the secret is a Mollie Katzen trick for making vegetable stock — throw in some apple and pear cores and peelings) and I’m convinced it has magical healing powers. Even now, I have a vat of it simmering on the stove, awaiting avgolemonofication.

Suddenly, I’m in the mood for soup.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:16 pm

    I think I might be more Amish than you.

    Either way, congrats on the job interview. I hope you get it! I hope Mollie Katzen is reading this. Chicken necks added to her stock? Blasphemous.

  2. freshhell permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:16 pm

    That should read “is not” reading this.

  3. Mme. P.Q.V. permalink
    November 3, 2009 5:12 pm

    Apple and pear cores?! Really?

  4. November 3, 2009 9:22 pm

    I’m going to try to use “avgolemonification” in a conversation tomorrow.

  5. November 3, 2009 9:47 pm

    I agree with FreshHell about the Amish tendencies–anyone but the two of you would consider a schedule like that reason for going through a drive-through for supper.

    The Amish always look so healthy–although I notice that they sometimes buy whole shopping carts full of sugar.

    Probably lasts them the whole winter.

  6. freshhell permalink
    November 4, 2009 9:13 am

    Jeanne, I can’t think of any reason for going through a drive-thru unless someone opens a vegan “fast food” restaurant. And even then….I like to be home, eating food I fixed. This might make me Michael Pollan’s best friend.

  7. November 4, 2009 9:36 am

    Freshhell, I am really not so Amish, except where it comes to food and I prefer to grow it myself. I’d really like to have a couple of goats and some chickens, but I”m pretty sure the homeowners association forbids it. Chicken necks may be blasphemous, but they are tasty in soup. And I’ve been making a conscious effort to use every possible part of the chickens we eat. Also, I like to avoid the MSG in prefab stock, which doesn’t taste as good anyway. Mme. PQV, yes, it’s true! But you don’t want too many apple and pear cores/peelings. Just a little mellows the taste and blends the flavors beautifully. It’s particularly key in an all-vegetable, tomato-free broth. With tomatoes it doesn’t matter so much, because everything ends up tasting like tomatoes. Julia, I hope you will share the context, because I think this is a word that should be used. Jeanne, there is all the shoo-fly pie to think of. And freshhell, we ended up in the drive-through for a snack because piano ran over and we only had ten minutes — not enough time to get home — between piano and book club.

  8. crankygirl permalink
    November 4, 2009 9:56 am

    good luck with the job. That’s a great word up there–avgolemonification.

  9. November 5, 2009 9:01 am

    Good luck with the job!

Leave a Reply

