Skip to content

Mad the swine

November 4, 2009

I’ve been swined. Or, at least, I think I’ve been swined. I haven’t actually been tested at this point, but all signs point to H1N1.Swine flu is tearing through our small town. Dozens of children are out of school. Flu vaccines of both varieties are unavailable for the foreseeable future. There’s nothing I could have done.

AJ had a half day of school today, which means Mr. Spy, who’s not feeling so hot himself, is doing the lion’s share of parenting while I’ve been quarantined in the bedroom with my laptop and the remote. Working has been not so easy, as my brain is not all there. On the plus side, my eyes have been opened to all sorts of television travesties this afternoon. A program called “Rosary for Children” featuring a chorus of vacant-eyed cartoon kids with wings sprouting from their shoulders freaked me out so much that I switched to a Korean soap opera, which was soothingly incomprehensible.

Right now, I can hear AJ singing to himself downstairs. I’m not sure what he’s doing. Mr. Spy went for a run and he was given strict instructions to stay out of my room. I’m feeling a little sad for my extradition, but am also enjoying the quiet. And now, I think, it’s time for a nap.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 4:54 pm

    Didn’t you know not to kiss the pig?

  2. dinnerroll permalink
    November 4, 2009 5:00 pm

    Ugh. That sucks so much! I hope you feel better soon!

  3. dinnerroll permalink
    November 4, 2009 5:00 pm

    (And apparently I’m still logged in as dinnerroll. Whoops!) — DJ

  4. November 4, 2009 5:36 pm

    Oh, man. That is not good. Not good at all.

  5. freshhell permalink
    November 4, 2009 6:35 pm

    Yuck. I hope you recover soon. Without getting either a curly tail or pointy ears.

  6. November 4, 2009 7:38 pm

    That’s what you get for discussing meat cake. I mean, I’m very sorry. I hope you feel better soon.

  7. November 4, 2009 7:50 pm

    Thanks for the good wishes. DJ, I, for one, am glad about the login, because now I know that email address, which made me laugh. Freshhell, I, too, would like to avoid any porcine modifications. But Julia, I have nothing but respect for the meat cake. It was a work of art.

  8. November 4, 2009 8:48 pm

    Here’s hoping the quarantine works. There’s nothing worse than being sick except being sick and having a sick kid.

  9. November 4, 2009 9:30 pm

    Bummer. Feel better.

  10. November 5, 2009 9:03 am

    Get well soon, but it’s not going to pass quickly, so don’t push yourself too hard the first time you feel a little better. Rest while you can.

  11. The Lass permalink
    November 5, 2009 9:35 am

    Hope you’re feeling at least a bit better today. Rest, rest, rest and avoid nightmare-inducing cartoons. Like Fox News.

  12. crankygirl permalink
    November 5, 2009 1:46 pm

    I hope that you’re better soon! And let us know about the library job!

Leave a Reply

