Skip to content

Doctor, doctor, give me the news

November 6, 2009

Scene: Harriet is lying in bed watching Jeopardy, surrounded by books, newspapers, cough drop wrappers and a Kleenex box. A glass of water, a mug of tea, a thermometer and more books are on her nightstand. Mr. Spy is downstairs watching Jeopardy with the sound turned up. Harriet drags herself out of her sick bed and downstairs to taunt speak with Mr. Spy.

Harriet: I get the Jeopardy questions before you do!

Mr. Spy: Good for you.

• • • • •

The medical professionals confirmed the H1N1 self-diagnosis. And sent me back to bed. For at least two days. Out here in the sticks, not only is there no flu vaccine, but there is also no Tamiflu, so all I got for the price of my co-pay was a prescription for antibiotics to be used only in the event that “things take a turn for the worse.” I love the way my doctor says “take a turn for the worse.” He sits with one hip on the counter and peers with concern at me over the top of his glasses, his tie peeking out from behind his white coat. If I were making a movie, he would be cast as that nice family doctor who makes house calls.

Fortunately several things have made my afternoon better. The first was the news that while I do have H1N1, I do not have pneumonia. This was of some concern, as I’ve had it before, which apparently makes it more likely that I have it again. Another good thing was a picture of the Boy Across the Street’s new baby brother, which his mother emailed to me. I’ve been too sick to go see him, which makes me very sad. And AJ has been no good at all. He came home from meeting the new baby the other day and I grilled him.

“What did you think?”

“He’s really, really small.”

“How big?”

“Like this.” He holds his hands apart about the length of a brick. I looked doubtful.

“How much does he weigh? Did she say?”

“Yes. I think he’s 5 pounds 4 ounces.”

Well no wonder he’s the size of a brick.

Except he’s not. He was over 8 pounds and he’s got amazing jowly baby cheeks. I can’t wait to hold him.

And another really good thing? A picture of Cranky’s beautiful pregnant belly. I love it when other people have babies.

You know what else I love? All the amazing paintings AJ’s been bringing home from art class. If I can ever figure out how to negotiate a truce between my scanner and my computer, who are currently refusing to speak to one another, I will post some.

But for now, I’m settling in with a pile of magazines and a remote. Happy Friday night, everyone.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. The Lass permalink
    November 7, 2009 8:26 am

    I was sorry to hear of your diagnosis but yes, it’s good to NOT have pneumonia. Rest, kick Mr. Spy’s butt at Jeopardy and work on getting better so you can see those jowly baby cheeks!

  2. November 7, 2009 10:21 am

    All I have to do is hold a baby once a year, smell a baby’s head twice a year and be glad I’m having no more babies all year.

  3. freshhell permalink
    November 7, 2009 4:03 pm

    I love babies best these days when they belong to someone else. I love to hold them and make them laugh…and then give them back.

    Too bad there’s not a 24 hour Jeopardy channel for the smart and ailing public. Hope you are on the mend soon.

Leave a comment