Skip to content

MindHead

November 6, 2009

Last night, still stuck in bed, I watched an airing of Bowfinger. I saw this movie in the theater years ago and thought it was hilarious. I’m sure not everyone will agree with me, but it’s an underrated gem. Steve Martin, who both wrote and stars in the movie, is hilarious. And I’d completely forgotten about Mindhead, a spoof of Scientologists, and its “happy premises” — mantras to put Eddie Murphy as Kit in his happy place:

Happy premise No. 1: There are no aliens.
Happy premise No. 2: There is no giant foot trying to squash me.
Happy premise No. 3: Even though I feel like I might ignite, I probably won’t.

It’s already a funny list, but it’s that “probably” that makes it perfect. And come on, don’t you feel better when you announce to the world that no giant foot is trying to squash you? I know I do.

The movie is directed by Frank Oz, who is better known for his work with Muppets in various projects, including Sesame Street, Star Wars and the Muppet Show. It’s not a great movie, but it’s got a great premise. Steve Martin plays a d-list director who’s promised to make a movie with a big star (that’s Murphy). When the star turns down the script, Martin and his cast and crew stalk him and film him surreptitiously in a variety of crazy scenes. Apparently, this is based on an incident back in the early days of American film when a director from Russia secretly filmed Mary Pickford and spliced her into a Russian film.

I think I’ll be chanting those mantras as I sit in the waiting room today. For I finally got up the gumption to call my doctor’s office this morning for advice and they insisted on me coming in to get my lungs checked this afternoon. I don’t like going to the doctor. But at least I’m sure there are no aliens at the doctor’s office. And I’m reasonably certain that no giant foot will come to squash me there. And even if, while sitting in the overheated waiting area, I feel like I might ignite, I know that I won’t. Probably.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    November 6, 2009 1:28 pm

    I love Bowfinger. It has one of my favorite scenes in it which I’d love to recreate: where Martin mocks two slicks in their fancy car talking on their phones and he has a regular phone receiver with the curled cord and pretends its his car phone. And then you see the end of the cord dangling in space. God, that is so what I want to do. Of course, you really need a convertible to pull off the joke.

  2. lemming permalink
    November 6, 2009 1:50 pm

    Any chance that the aliens might ignite the giant foot by mistake?

Leave a Reply

