Skip to content

The Ridges

November 7, 2009

I’m running out of things to write about, stuck, as I am, looking at the same four walls for days on end. The weekend is definitely harder. Saturday mornings, we usually watch cartoons together and then eat pancakes. Today, we had to improvise. AJ wanted to watch a Spongebob special with me, so we came up with the idea of using his walkie talkies. He sat on the sofa downstairs and I lay in bed upstairs and we talked about the show over the walkie talkies, which was pretty entertaining for me. But after a while AJ said, “I’m just going to turn this off now. It’s getting a little annoying.” Maybe it was because I get the show a few seconds before he does. But it’s not like we were watching a mystery, right?

Right.

Beyond that, I’ve been trying to get a little writing done but have mostly been dozing over newspapers. My life really could not be less exciting. I’ve got at least one more day of this (doctor’s orders) and then, hopefully, I’ll be able to escape. But sadly, I’m going to miss AJ playing a piano demo for an open house for his studio tomorrow. I’m very sad about this and am hoping I can get Mr. Spy to video the event for me. I feel like life is passing me by. Did I mention that it’s supposed to be 70 and sunny here all weekend? Insult, meet injury.

I’ve clearly reached the feeling-sorry-for-yourself stage. I think that means I’m on the mend.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    November 7, 2009 7:09 pm

    Is the wallpaper yellow? If not, don’t despair. Maybe you can open the windows and sit in front of one. Or is that more insult to injury? Maybe if the Spys leave the house, you can sneak outside and sit in the sun.

  2. November 7, 2009 7:44 pm

    I say fresh air is the best cure and you should head out to sit and read outdoors or take a walk. Just tell your family not to breathe near you.

  3. November 7, 2009 7:49 pm

    I did for a little while, but the air was so thick with leaf-burning smoke that I had to retreat back indoors.

  4. crankygirl permalink
    November 8, 2009 7:39 am

    Aww-sorry. I hope you’re doing better!

  5. November 8, 2009 7:41 pm

    You deserve to feel sorry for yourself; it’s been a long time to be so sick. And no Tamiflu up there? What’s the deal with that?

Leave a Reply

