Skip to content

Late edition

November 12, 2009

Today was the first day in over a week that I really got out of the house. And you wouldn’t believe what has happened while I was stuck in bed. Who knew the world didn’t come screeching to a halt? For instance:

1. Someone installed an enormous culvert at the entrance to our neighborhood at the place where the ground erodes every time it rains. It’s about damn time.

2. The construction project on the main road, which they’ve dithered around with for weeks, has suddenly taken off like gangbusters. Half the sidewalk is in already. I can’t wait to ride my bike on it. No longer will we have to walk on the shoulder to get to the Qwik-E-Mart.

3. Someone cut down dozens, maybe hundreds of trees in the nature trail It’s positively tragic. They are preparing for some wetlands restoration, but it looks like they’re about ready to blaze a road through. I am very, very sad about it.

4. Trader Joe’s made their shelves taller to hold more things. This made for a pretty good shopping trip today with one tragic exception — Trader Joe’s will not be carrying their gingerbread house kit this year. I had been all excited to buy it, because I always get it early so they don’t sell out and AJ always wants to do it immediately and I always make him wait until after Thanksgiving. We’ve built a house every year since he was 3 or 4. It’s the end of a cherished family tradition. Whatever shall we do? And don’t say bake one yourself. I did it once and I can tell you NEVER AGAIN. Way to much work.

In non-neighborhood news, I’ve now joined the masses who are trying out Google Wave. It seems like a pretty exciting concept, but I haven’t quite figured out what to do with it yet. Any suggestions?

That’s all the news from here. What’s going on in your neighborhood?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2009 4:28 pm

    Bake your own. It’s really not that much more work. AJ can make patterns out of cardstock. Or I’ll send you some.

  2. November 12, 2009 4:38 pm

    Honestly, my recipe is simple and foolproof. I’ll share recipe and/or pattern upon request. And… we eat the house after we’ve enjoyed it for a few days. Delicious!

  3. November 12, 2009 5:10 pm

    I am in Fairbanks for a marketing trip. It’s snowing and 15 degrees. It seems about 8 weeks ahead of Minnesota. Ah, well.

  4. The Lass permalink
    November 12, 2009 7:47 pm

    1. I’m glad you’re up and around.
    2. Neighborhood news:

    In addition to our turning lane and new stop sign, we too got new culverts. Just finished up this week. Oh, and new driveway aprons because they had to cut through driveways to re-dig the culverts.

    New neighbors are awesome.

    Second hay harvest is underway, which means that there should be some big hay rolls available for photo ops soon.

    3. In about ten minutes, I am going to pick up Claudia!

  5. crankygirl permalink
    November 13, 2009 9:04 am

    If you look Gingerbread Kits up on Amazon there look to be many options.

  6. lemming permalink
    November 13, 2009 11:37 am

    Apart form having vaguely murderous thoughts about the blow up turkeys in various yards, not much has changed in my neighborhood. We’re all fighting the battle of the leavs

  7. November 14, 2009 7:00 am

    The plan was to work on the levels in the back garden so the beds for the raspberry canes, strawberry plants and blueberry bushes (NO APPLE TREES!) would be ready for the delivery next week but the smell of tar from the roadworks behind the house drove me indoors Friday. It’s one of the only smells in the world that turns my stomach! Oh well. This isn’t Hong Kong, where things are actually delivered when they are supposed to be delivered so I imagine I still have plenty of time….

Leave a Reply

