Skip to content

On the couch with my special one

November 14, 2009

I spent 5 hours today cleaning AJ’s room. I know, I’m shocked too. I started early. On the spur of the moment last night, AJ went to The Boy Across the Street’s house for a sleepover. Which is amazing, because The Boy Across the Street has a baby brother who is less than two weeks old. But his mom assured me that AJ would keep TBAS out of her hair, and it was therefore a case of more is less. So AJ wasn’t home to cause trouble. AJ actually thanked me for doing it. He may take his thanks back, however, as I’ve spent the rest of the day reminding him to put his stuff away. I think he’ll be glad when we ditch him with the babysitter tonight.

We are trying a new babysitter tonight. Our old one went to college and we’ve been getting by with relatives or just staying home. But tonight, we are heading to the home of Fairlywell and DJ for a party and so we called the son of one of our neighbors who is a very mature 8th grader who’s been having trouble finding babysitting jobs. Boys get the short end of the stick there, a lot of the time. AJ is excited to have a boy. He’s friends with the sitter’s little brother, who’s a grade ahead of him. I hope they both have fun.

I went out to the store to get some babysitter food (frozen pizza, Coke, pretzels). On my way in, I noticed some alarmist signs about the canned pumpkin shortage. I made a mental note to add pumpkin to my list. I wandered through the store picking up things and made a turn into the baking aisle. It was pretty easy to figure out where the pumpkin was. There was quite a crowd. By the time I got there, there were only 6 cans left. I grabbed one and put it in my cart. “You should take another one,” advised one of the other women, who was piling cans in her cart. “They could run out.” “I only need one,” I said smiling. Whether or not there is a real shortage, I do not know, but the signs seem to be an excellent marketing ploy.

Thanksgiving’s in a week and a half. Now begins the process of looking at a gazillion recipes and probably ending up making the same menu I always make. Do I make creamed onions this year? They are finicky, but delicious. Is this the year I try pumpkin creme brulee instead of pie? What are your favorite Thanksgiving recipes?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 7:42 pm

    Ooh, is there a tag open? Everything is linky linky after a while.

    Well, it’s in my nature to google, so I googled canned pumpkin shortage. I guess since last year’s crop was horrific (1/3 lost) that there is a shortage, at least in September. One site suggested replacing pumpkin with canned butternut squash. In a pie? Oh, noes! But it was supposed to be alleviated now because of the pumpkin harvest.

    Pumpkin cheesecake is a winner! But just gimme the basics for the main meal, and don’t skimp on the gravy.

    Hmmmm…now I think of it, I bet stores are taking an actual event (pumpkin shortage) and running with it even if there is no more shortage. So add the pumpkin concern to the oil companies as being on my list…

    PS – I didn’t realize that the band Frozen Ghost had a huge ratio of mullet per band member. Basically 1 to 1 counting the lead singer who has the ‘I’m balding so I need to mulletize in order to save face. (yes, I posted a song by them today…)

  2. readersguide permalink
    November 14, 2009 7:44 pm

    One year I was in Arizona at my grandmother’s condo. I had agreed to make pecan pie, and we sort of had the ingredients, but we did not have the recipe. I guess we normally use the Joy of Cooking recipe. I was forced to buy something like a Bon Appetite magazine which had some kind of a walnut-whiskey pie, which was pretty close, and I used it, substituting pecans, and it was the best pecan pie ever. But my mother lost the recipe, and I have spent every Thanksgiving since trying to find it again to no avail. Anyway, that’s my favorite Thanksgiving recipe.

  3. LSM permalink
    November 14, 2009 9:12 pm

    Is it un-American to admit that my family doesn’t like pumpkin pie and never makes it for Thanksgiving? My sister makes an excellent pumpkin cake that we all love, though. Maybe I should alert her to the potential canned pumpkin shortage.

    We’re at my family’s this year, which means both a road trip and less cooking for me. I’m taking pecan pies and strueseled sweet potatoes.

  4. crankygirl permalink
    November 15, 2009 8:28 am

    I hope everyone had a good time. Creamed onions–hmm. My favorite recipe is the Brazil Nut stuffing that my mother makes. It’s the thing that has me convinced to make turkey even though there will be few of us this year.

  5. November 15, 2009 10:13 am

    Smed, an article in today’s (Sunday’s) NY Times suggests the shortage is alive and well. I can’t seem to find the article on line, for some reason. Readersguide, that pie sounds fabulous, but the story may be even better. LSM, maybe a little un-American, but I can totally understand why someone might not like pumpkin. I love pumpkin pie, though, and occasionally make a crustless version at other times of the year. It’s relatively healthy as desserts go. Cranky, Brazil nut stuffing sounds lovely. I always think about trying other stuffings, but I know I never will. My stuffing recipe, if you can call it a recipe — there are no measurements involved — is the one my mother made and her mother before here. And it’s entirely likely that my great grandmother made it the same way. The idea of making something else feels a little traitorous. Besides, it’s delicious. Creamed onions sound like they would not be good, but they are really good. They cook for a long time slowly and you make them with tiny pearl onions, so they are sweet and delicious.

  6. November 15, 2009 1:05 pm

    My family always makes cornbread dressing, even if we don’t make anything else ourselves. Because there’s no substitute.

  7. freshhell permalink
    November 15, 2009 5:02 pm

    I always make the pumpkin pie. It is my very favorite food. Creamed onions? Not so much. I usually bring pie and sometimes a soup. Something with winter squash in it. My mother likes to have the very same food every year so I try not to mess with her Thanksgiving World View too much.

  8. November 15, 2009 5:22 pm

    My farmer friends say that yes, the shortage is true- it is actually the second year of this shortage, but it wasn’t so noticeable last year. I suggest trying sweet potato or winter squash as a substitute; if you can tell at all it won’t be significant.

    This year I’ve swapped my regular contribution of pumpkin and pecan pies and wine for appetizers and wine. Didn’t swap b/c of the pumpkin shortage but b/c my oven has been wacky and I don’t trust it. And I don’t trust the in-laws to buy wine I’m willing to drink!

Leave a Reply

