Skip to content

Moon

November 23, 2009

Well, we have yet to complete the Etch-a-Sketch experiment, as the weather has taken a turn for the worse and there is currently no part of our house with sufficient heat. Stay tuned for the results.

Yesterday afternoon, Mr. Spy and AJ left with some friends to go see the Eagles beat the Bears and also to see Devin Hester lose his pants. They called me around dinner time from the parking garage where they were tailgating to tell me of the billowing smoke, the public drunkenness, and the need to avoid the edges of the garage for fear of being hit by a stream of urine from a floor above. Needless to say, I am very glad I stayed home. They, however, had a great time. Good for them. AJ came home covered in soot from the smoky barbecues.

I started my evening of freedom with a nice long walk around the neighborhood, and came back to do some writing and a little pre-Thanksgiving cleaning and cooking. I made a batch of spiced pecans and chopped up bread for stuffing, folded laundry and made some solid headway on my long avoided basket of mending. It all sounds very domestic and industrious, but it was largely an excuse for me to catch up on some good old-fashioned bad TV watching. But a side benefit, is that I now have two sweaters in my closet that had been in that mending pile for so long, that I barely remember owning them. It’s like having new clothes except free!

Today is the first day of AJ’s Thanksgiving vacation. Mr. Spy and I celebrated by walking to school without AJ for our conference with AJ’s classroom teacher and the teacher for the gifted program. AJ celebrated by being allowed to stay home alone for the duration of our conference. He’s been begging to get left alone in the house and this seemed to be the perfect opportunity because a) it was morning, b) we were only going to be gone for a half an hour and c) we were only going to be 4 blocks away. We have AJ strict instructions about doors (don’t open them) and phones (don’t tell anyone your parents aren’t home) and chores (they’d better be done before we get home). I think he enjoyed himself immensely.

We did too, actually. This was the best kind of conference, where the teachers sit down and tell you about how great your kid is. For the first time since he started school, I didn’t have very many questions to ask. This is partly because we’ve been learning as we go and were better informed going in, but a lot because things are just running more smoothly now. I really like Andy’s teacher this year. She’s very calm and friendly and organized and encouraging. The room is very orderly and not nearly as busy as his first and second grade classrooms. Each desk has a student-designed name tag on the front. It looks like a happy place.

It’s starting to feel like a holiday. After a weekend in the 60s, the weather’s turned more Novembrish. We are all wrapped in sweaters and extra socks and carrying around hot drinks, but it seems festive somehow. It’s nice to have AJ home, livening up the place.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 4:07 pm

    No wonder you have school until June- we only get W/Th/F off for Thanksgiving. All I need really.

    I once had a boyfriend implore me to join him in NYC for New Year’s Eve. I had no interest and the midnight phone call which was interrupted by someone peeing on his shoes did nothing to make me sorry for my decision.

  2. November 23, 2009 4:09 pm

    A father and son tailgating. A rite of passage!

  3. crankygirl permalink
    November 23, 2009 4:14 pm

    I’m glad they had a great time despite losing. It’s very cute that he can stay home alone already. Wow.

  4. November 23, 2009 4:29 pm

    It is nice to get the whole week off. I wish my kids could get some rest before we travel but no, it’s the usual 6:30 am wake-up call. This after a weekend of everyone getting to bed after midnight because of being in a play and then going (briefly) to the cast parties. And us waiting up until the 16-year-old drivers delivered everyone safely home.

  5. November 23, 2009 4:40 pm

    It is really nice to have a week. Monday and Tuesday are conference days. And our district chooses not to take Veteran’s Day off so they can apply the day to Thanksgiving week. I’m not sure if the high school has the week off. I think they may have school on Mon and Tues. Which would be to bad, really, because they probably need the rest as much as anyone. That’s the problem with travelling at holidays, Jeanne. Everyone ends up tired. But still, it’s fun too.

  6. November 24, 2009 3:15 am

    The IMOM was asking for more details about AJ’s game experience so thanks for the update. Himself and Little Bro won’t be taking my five-going-on-fifty nephew to Foxboro until he’s 18 by all accounts. When the two of them come home they don’t talk about the game, they talk about the antics that fellow fans got up to. They say the obnoxious drunken women are the worst, which is sad commentary on the many aspects of feminism gone wrong. I’ll stick to MLB games thanks –they are generally more family-friendly and civilized in my experience.

    Hope you are fully better. It’s not fair: I go to the exotic locals and you get the exotic disease!

  7. freshhell permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:51 am

    The kids don’t get out until mid-day on Wednesday which is just fine by me because I get a “day of freedom” in which to track birthday/xmas gifts, wrap things, bake things, all the stuff I can’t do when they’re underfoot.

  8. November 24, 2009 11:06 pm

    I’m really wishing you hadn’t invoked November on us. Do you have any idea how hard it is to walk my indoor dog in a cold rainstorm? Bleh. Happy Thanksgiving, though!

  9. November 25, 2009 1:20 am

    I’m very sorry about that, Julia. If it’s any consolation, I had to downtown in the rain tonight and was completely soaked from the neck up and the knees down — everywhere my raincoat doesn’t cover — even with an umbrella. Poor Reilly. I hope he has a good Thanksgiving. And you too!

Leave a Reply

