Skip to content

Ms. Spy’s guide to an excruciatingly correct Thanksgiving dinner

November 25, 2009

One of the challenges of hosting many Thanksgiving dinners is that I’ve gotten quite good at it. I realize you may not see the problem here, but Thanksgiving to me — most holidays, actually — are about a certain amount of freneticism. And although I constantly strive to avoid the panic, when I find that I have, I always find that I’m a little disappointed. Here I am at 9 something o’clock on the night before Thanksgiving and the house is more or less clean; the cranberry sauce and pies are made; the turkey and dressing are prepped; the silver is polished; the napkins are ironed; and the table is set. I am left twiddling my thumbs.

And so I decided to deal with the stereo. When I graduated from college some years ago, I spent my graduation money on a really good stereo. It was such a good stereo, in fact, that I am still using it and whenever I’ve needed repairs, the repair guys start drooling and make me promise not to buy a new one because they don’t make them like this anymore. I’m fine with that. I’m very happy with it except for one thing: there is only one repair place in all of northern Illinois that works on these things and it is not at all convenient to get there from here. Which is why my cassette player doesn’t work (shut up) and my CD player sounds like it’s being played underwater in a cave of white noise machines. But it suddenly occurred to me the other day that after they put in our new internet/tv/phone lines, which came with their own wireless network, that I had an Airport Express lying around with nothing to do and, hey, couldn’t I hook it up to my stereo? And then I promptly forgot about it. Until tonight, when I found myself all caught up with Thanksgiving chores.

I found the box and the cord and plugged it in and tried it out. The whole thing took all of three minutes and there I was with the Shins playing from my laptop over my stereo speakers. I tried to get Mr. Spy excited about it with me, but he is not as easily impressed by technology as I am. Bah humbug to him. But now I’m contemplating the new Thanksgiving playlist that is now possible. Hmm. Perhaps I’ll start with the terrific list we all came up with last year. That will give me something to do while the turkey’s cooking tomorrow. Until I realize I’ve forgotten something. And then the panic will finally begin. Phew!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2009 12:32 am

    Cassette player. Hee. I shouldn’t make fun – I still have a Sony Discman from my freshman year of college. It works, too.

  2. November 26, 2009 8:06 am

    We still have quite a few cassettes that we haven’t or haven’t been able to replace. I also have DATs and reel-to-reels. I draw the line at 8-tracks, however.

  3. November 27, 2009 8:16 pm

    We love our airport express network.

Leave a Reply

