Skip to content

Safe from storms

November 26, 2009

The annual Thanksgiving index has been postponed in order to publish this letter that we received from AJ today. He wrote it at school and brought it home with instructions that we weren’t to look at it until Thanksgiving. I think you all know what I’m thankful for this year. I hope you all are feeling similarly blessed.

November 26, 2009

Dear Mom and Dad,

Thank you for everything you’ve done, but especially being together and taking care of me.

It is very fun being together and playing with each other. There are many fun games to play together. There are indoor games. My favorite to play with you is “Sorry!” My favorite outdoor game is basketball.

Whenever you take good care of me, I feel safe. You provide me with food, clothes, and shelter. I cannot do anything without food. Clothing keeps me from getting very sick. Our home is also very important to me. It keeps me safe from storms.

Thank you for everything you do with me. You take care of me very well.

Happy Thanksgiving

AJ

2 Comments leave one →
  1. LSM permalink
    November 27, 2009 12:02 am

    This is beautiful. I think every parent’s wish is for the ability to make her child feel safe from life’s storms.

  2. November 27, 2009 9:50 am

    Awww. That’s really sweet.

Leave a Reply

