Skip to content

Thanksgiving Index

November 27, 2009

This is the seventh Thanksgiving I’ve posted about and the fourth Thanksgiving Index, which I first published in 2003, when AJ was two years old. Here are the ghosts of Thanksgivings past, should you wish to compare notes.

2003
2004 (No index, thanks to the alarm caused by the convergence of a snowstorm and the furnace dying on Thanksgiving Day)
2005
2006 (No index, but here’s Mr. Spy’s invented holiday, The Day of Onerous Tasks)
2007 (No index, because of my grandmother’s memorial)
2008

• Number of hours spent watching parades: 1.5
• Number of hours spent watching Fred Astaire movies: 2
• Number of people eating Thanksgiving dinner: 6
• Number of horses in the pasture outside: 6
• Weight of the turkey (unstuffed): 18 pounds
• Number of sticks of butter used in the dinner: 2.5
• Number of dishes that went straight into the garbage before serving: 1 (gravy)
• Number of containers of leftovers in the refrigerator: 11
Ratio of pies desserts to people: 5:6 (same as last year!)
Number of candles on display: 12
Number of candles lit: 8
Number of different sports watched during the afternoon: 3
Number of Thanksgiving cartoon specials watched during the afternoon: 2
Number of spilled wine glasses: 0
Number of people who commented on the forgotten vanilla ice cream: 0
Number of songs performed by AJ on the piano: 2

5 Comments leave one →
  1. PeppyPilotGirl permalink
    November 27, 2009 11:04 pm

    See, now that’s another example of why we’re friends… you appreciate an appropriate pie:people ratio!! (We were at my sister-in-law’s… 5:17… and only one was pumpkin! ::shakes head sadly::)

  2. November 28, 2009 10:05 am

    I still love Mr. Spy’s fake holiday. I went back (to DIARYLAND!) to read it again, and laughed just as hard.

    What happened to the gravy?

  3. November 28, 2009 11:40 am

    Peppy, the first Thanksgiving we were married, I had the same group (minus AJ) for Thanksgiving, my very first time cooking it. That stellar year, we ended up with a stunning 1:1 pie ratio — and all pies. I made my usual pair of pumpkins. I also made a mince pie, which was my family’s tradition and which is one of my favorites. But, as it turns out, no one likes it but me. But the guests each brought a pie. EACH. I’ve never seen so much pie in one place. The worst ratios are always in years we spend with my family, who are too damn healthy sometimes. But the Polish/Italian side of the family knows how to do dessert. You should see our Christmas parties.

    Julia, I’m not sure. I have bad gravy karma. First, I think I didn’t skim off enough fat — it was an exceptionally oily turkey. Second, when I mixed the pan juices into the flour, it all separated out. And third, it tasted godawful and looked worse. Pretty much no redeeming qualities. Next year I will make the gravy ahead of time from chicken stock. I don’t need the last minute pressure. but I’d appreciate any and all gravy advice. I have yet to turn out a decent batch.

  4. November 28, 2009 7:12 pm

    Can you make a white sauce? Same thing really. Mix equal parts flour and drippings, let it cook to get the flour taste out, then add liquid VERY VERY slowly until you have the consistency and amount you want. Assume 2T flour/drippings for 1c liquid.

Trackbacks

  1. The Annual Thanksgiving Index « spynotes

Leave a Reply

