Skip to content

Arf

December 1, 2009

I spent entirely too much time today doing irritating but necessary things — paying bills, sitting on hold with assorted companies who don’t give a rat’s ass about my time, making lists and checking them twice. Days like that always feel frazzled and yet unaccomplished. Not a great combination.

But I wrote a decent poem this morning. And I got some editing done. And I got to really coach at AJ’s chess club today, under the supervision of a grandmaster no less. He was very kind about my errors. I am so completely out of my league there that it’s ridiculous. But I love working with the kids and I”m learning plenty. AJ, however, is learning more and faster. But I can’t tell how much he likes it. I’m not sure if he’s going to stick with it.

AJ and I also went to his monthly book club this evening. The book they read, Annabel the Actress Starring in Hound of the Barkervilles, was not great. Too easy, all the kids said. And the male half of the group couldn’t stand it. The group leader agreed that there wasn’t enough to talk about, so she had the kids act out a play of their own. She had found a short script, made some simple set pieces out of posterboard, and asked for volunteers to bring in some props. Then she rehearsed the kids and video taped their performance. It was terrific. The kids had a great time and AJ is very excited at the possibility of being in a video on YooToob.

AJ played a toy shop owner. He had two lines and said them both very fast. But he didn’t look at all nervous, unlike the two girls who always come late. They look terrified whenever anyone asks them a question in the regular book group format. The younger one was so overcome with nerves that she begged off of the play, but her older sister came through it, shaking like a leaf.

The other highlight of the evening was that one of the other book group members brought a dog (a big slobbery dog figures prominently in the book). He was a bearded collie named Kipper and he was the sweetest, shaggiest animal. His owner said he was trained as a therapy dog, but that she didn’t take him to do therapy much anymore. Now I’m thinking about bearded collies.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. crankygirl permalink
    December 2, 2009 7:44 am

    Collies are lovely. Perfect for a kid.

  2. December 2, 2009 7:51 am

    Instead of YooTube, try KidsTube for safe sharing of videos.

  3. December 3, 2009 9:38 am

    Kidstube looks interesting. For the handful of videos of the kids I’ve uploaded to teh yootoob, I’ve turned off comments completely. Not only are many of the comments offensive, the grammar and spelling are atrocious.

  4. December 3, 2009 10:00 am

    I’ve never heard of KidsTube before, but I’ve found Youtube a safe way to share videos as long as you require a password, which I generally do. The one exception was a video of AJ playing piano that I posted here as well, but it was so far away and blurry, that I didn’t think it was much of a liability. I’ll check out KidsTube, though.

Leave a Reply

