Skip to content

Blue pencil

December 2, 2009

Do you remember when I turned in those three articles in one day? I do. It was the day of Mark Buerhle’s perfect game. I remember, because it was a nice sunny day and I was home alone while the boys were at the ballpark watching history being made. If you consider baseball history. I know they do. It was July 23. More than four months ago. A couple of weeks ago, I got a ridiculously small paycheck for one of the articles. I still have no idea which one. It didn’t say. And the other two checks are still MIA. But today, I got a galley for one of them. Is this the one I got paid for? Or is this another one? I don’t know. It was alarming to see how many editors have made comments. More comments than words in the article, I think. But the only thing they seem to have actually changed is formatting. Oh, and they cut some material duplicated in one of my other articles and referred to it instead. Still, it makes me feel like a real writer/scholar/employed person. Even though I’m not really any of those things at the moment. But I’m trying my best.

Meanwhile, I’ve got the other writing projects kicking into high gear. I think I’ve figured out how to recycle two old papers for two upcoming conferences with minimal effort so that I might concentrate on The Writing Project That Dare Not Speak Its Name. You know the one I’m talking about. Or not talking about. And then there’s the little fun one on the side. A possible digression. Still researching how I would go about submitting it to a publisher and what needs to be revised. But I’m thinking, a few minutes a day. And the constant trolling for jobs. A number of new posts came out this week — unusually late in the season. There are many balls in the air. It would be nice if I could catch one.

And in case any of you is interested in tossing a ball or two in the air yourself, a friend of a friend has started a new literary magazine and they are looking for writers. You can find information here.

Back to work. What are you working on?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    December 2, 2009 4:26 pm

    Well, that all sounds intriguing. And mysterious. Details are needed on all these projects.

    As for me? Same old, same old. Except I haven’t actually written much lately. My excuses: lack of time, illness, travel, lack of time, lack of giving a shit, ennui, reading, eating, sleeping, lack of (fill in the blank).

  2. December 2, 2009 8:40 pm

    Now that I’ve finished working on grading, I’m going to start working on the book review blog carnival I foolishly said I’d host this Sunday (having never done it before). Then ordering Christmas presents. Then reading some of the books I didn’t have time to read this fall!

  3. December 3, 2009 9:33 am

    In your shoes, I would probably dump everything and spend all my time on the shiny new little fun project on the side, which probably explains why I never got more than 75 pages into a novel until I was 39 years old. Way to keep the balls in the air.

Leave a Reply

