Skip to content

Because there is only so much I can write about snow

December 9, 2009

This holiday meme comes courtesy of my friend Mr. Permanent Qui Vive.

Four Holiday songs/pieces you enjoy the most:

• Adeste Fidelis (preferably in Latin)
• Benjamin Britten’s “A Ceremony of Carols.” I’m not sure that counts as one song, but it’s shorter than an album.
•”The Christmas Song” by Mel Tormé
• “White Christmas” as sung by Bing Crosby, with all his characteristic scoops

Four holiday songs/pieces you enjoy the least:
All these songs brought to you courtesy of the Chicago area’s All Christmas all December radio station, which AJ always demands to listen to in the car.

• “The Christmas Shoes” by ?
• “Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer” by ?
• “Wonderful Christmastime” by Paul McCartney
• “Happy Christmas (War is Over)” by The Alarm

and also, anyone but Eartha Kitt thinking of attempting “Santa Baby” should think again.

Four holiday albums you enjoy the most:

• A Charlie Brown Christmas by the Vince Guaraldi Trio
• Noël by Joan Baez (all music arranged by Peter Schickele, better known as PDQ Bach)
• The Messiah by John Eliot Gardner & Co. I also really like the Harry Christophers and The Sixteen version
• Oy to the World by the Klezmonauts. Okay, so that may not be in the same league as the other three and there may even be others I like better, but the arrangements and playing are both amazing and hilarious.

I’m pretty sure the Asylum Street Spankers’ Christmas album would be up here if I actually got to hear the whole thing.

Four holiday albums you enjoy the least:

• John Denver’s Christmas Album. I’m not sure of the name of it, but I remember being traumatized as a child by listening to a song called, “Please, Daddy, don’t get drunk this Christmas.”

• New Kids on the Block’s Christmas album. I was subjected to this somewhere and I’m still bearing the scars.

• Bob Dylan’s new Christmas album. Although it might win points in the humor department. It’s a train wreck of epic proportions. I love you, Bob but…no. Just no.

• Mannheim Steamroller. They may have more than one. I really don’t know. But I hate them all.

And as a bonus for reading this far, here is the Telegraph’s (UK) list of the 25 worst Christmas Album Covers ever. You’re welcome!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 5:33 pm

    Grandma was Elmo & Patsy. Do you like “Happy Christmas” by John Lennon?

    “The Christmas Waltz” is one of my faves.

    Here’s Patton Oswalt (NSFW language) on the Christmas Shoes.

    http://moderateleft.com/?p=5972

  2. freshhell permalink
    December 9, 2009 5:48 pm

    Wonderful Christmastime is a great song.

  3. December 9, 2009 6:06 pm

    Smed, I find the Lennon version marginally better, but I’m not fond of the song in general. And thanks for the link to the comedy routine. Freshhell, I think it’s possible that I might not object to the song so much if a) it were in a different arrangement and b) it weren’t played so goddamn much. But I still think it sounds like it was written by marketing directors.

  4. teranika permalink
    December 9, 2009 6:14 pm

    Ha!! LOVED the telegraph bit!!!

  5. crankygirl permalink
    December 9, 2009 7:40 pm

    I never would have guessed that White Christmas was a favorite of yours.

  6. December 9, 2009 8:29 pm

    I’m glad, teranika. Cranky, it is for a couple of reasons. Nothing makes me think more of my childhood holidays than that album (I can hear my dad crooning along). And also, I am a sucker for the movie, which mentions our alma mater in one scene.

  7. lemming permalink
    December 9, 2009 9:10 pm

    “Wonderful Christmas” – heh heh. A friend posted her hatred of this song as her facebook status and received many replies, all of which echoed a true depth of loathing for it worthy of Dave Barry.

    Somewhere I heard/ read a review of Dylan’s album which observed that when he sings “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” he makes it sound like a threat.

  8. freshhell permalink
    December 10, 2009 9:25 am

    A lot of McCartney’s songs of that era sound that way but I don’t listen to Christmas radio so I don’t hear it very often and am happy to be the only one on the planet that likes it. White Christmas, on the other hand, I do not ever need to hear again. I’ll take BC and David Bowie singing “Drummer Boy”.

  9. Elizabeth permalink
    December 10, 2009 10:54 am

    I am so glad I am not the only one who loathes Wonderful Christmas. Unfortunately just reading the song title gave me an ear worm. ::runs off to play Girls Just Wanna Have Fun as a replacement::

  10. December 14, 2009 3:56 pm

    The Asylum Street Spankers do the absolute best Silent Night ever: on the musical saw. It’s eerie and awesome.

  11. December 14, 2009 10:40 pm

    I’ve heard that recording, magpie, and it is awesome.

  12. glaxaco permalink
    December 16, 2009 1:28 pm

    I’m partial to the Drifters’ version of White Christmas. “Wonderful Christmastime” kinda kinda wraps up all the annoying, smarmy aspects of McCartney’s music in one bright, colorful package.

Leave a Reply

