Skip to content

Rim shot

December 14, 2009

Day 2 of my new violin teaching gig was a blast. Student number 1, the guitar teacher, was so excited about everything I threw at him, even though I assigned him some really boring position shifting exercises. And we rocked our way through a couple of Irish polkas. My second student was a 7 year old boy who was SO! EXCITED! about learning how to play the violin. We got him fitted with an instrument — it’s a little big, but hopefully it will work. He kept saying, “This is so much fun!” At the end, when I supervised him putting his instrument away, he said, “You mean I get to take it home? What, for a day?”

“No, for as long as you’re taking lessons.”

“Oh, boy!”

I love teaching.

His little brother, who got dragged along for the ride, was not so happy about it. He cried big fat tears about not getting to take lessons himself. Next week I may bring some percussion instruments for him, just in case.

Today I taught a couple of doors down the street in the drum studio. Is it wrong that I really like that the drum teacher is a woman? She was just getting started as I was packing up (It’s probably a good thing that we weren’t overlapping too much) When I came out of my second lesson, there was a girl, maybe 10 or 11, sitting behind the drum kit learning how to do cymbal rolls. I was a little jealous.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. crankygirl permalink
    December 14, 2009 10:31 pm

    That sounds like a lot of fun. Take drum lessons!

  2. December 15, 2009 7:39 am

    Get to know her and you and drum teacher could swap some lessons with each other.

  3. freshhell permalink
    December 15, 2009 9:06 am

    Aw, I won’t tell Red about the drummer girl. She’d be jealous. Something tells me there will be a drum kit in our future. Glad you are enjoying teaching violin! That kid cracks me up.

  4. December 15, 2009 10:13 am

    You sound like the best violin teacher since my last one, in college, who would stamp his little foot, look up at me, and declare “you play like a girl!”

  5. Elizabeth permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:51 am

    Jeanne, that made me laugh out loud.

    Harriet, in a similar vein I always tell girls (and especially babies or toddlers) that they will be SO! GOOD! at math and science.

    Having been an oboist, I didn’t see a gender division amongst us double reed players, we were all just nuts. But I certainly did see it in percussion and often in brass, especially trumpets/coronets.

  6. December 15, 2009 1:02 pm

    Maybe you need drum lessons?

  7. December 15, 2009 6:02 pm

    That girl may be the next Neal Peart!

Leave a Reply

