Skip to content

Eve

December 24, 2009

I’ve updated yesterday’s post on my Bûche de Noël with some photos of the steps along the way. I think it’s clear that I’m no food stylist. What is that scrap of paper in the corner of a picture or two? It’s my recipe, of course. Why, yes, it is scribbled on a scrap of paper torn out of a notebook shaped like a dog face. Why do you ask?

Yesterday I made the roulade and the crema part of the filling. I also made the meringue cookies to use for mushrooms on the log. I’ll post about those later. This morning I’ll finish the filling and roll up the cake, cut some pieces to make branches, make the icing and ice it. I plan to enlist AJ to help me spin some sugar. I’ll add the decorations shortly before I need to wrap it up to take to the party. The hard part, though, is all done. I separated 10 eggs without a problem, and got through the custard with no curdling. I did not burn the meringues. I am cautiously optimistic about the end result.

Today is going to be a bit frantic. There are many details to finish up. I had hoped to finish them last night, but instead I spent the evening editing a video Christmas card we made for family. So I am quite behind. And I need to pick up Mr. Spy’s gift, which is on hold for me at a local store. I had tried to order it from a different store with a bunch of other things, but it was apparently backordered and they neglected to notify me. I only found out when I went looking to discover why it wasn’t included in my order. Bah. And then there is the inviolable block of time set aside for listening to the service of Lessons and Carols from Kings College, Cambridge. Every year I finish my cooking while listening to it. I will not miss it for anything. “Not even if the house is on fire?” AJ asks. Don’t make me choose, AJ.

That is all by way of explanation that the rest of the description of the Yule Log may not get posted until after the holiday. But for those that are celebrating, from our house to yours, a very Merry Christmas.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    December 24, 2009 9:52 am

    You are a braver woman than I. I have decided to NOT do days and days of crazy-making cooking this year. And it’s a good thing I didn’t plan for much what with the storm and the children being sick, one after the other. I have some monkey pull-apart bread in the oven and will soon make a sweet potato/apple gratin. And that will be that. Merry Christmas to all the Spys!

  2. December 27, 2009 6:52 pm

    I agree that the day after Christmas is the best. I do like Christmas Eve, but since we live so far from most family, and since we usually have to go to The Annoying Party, it’s usually not so great — although it was good this year, and I like it’s sense of –ready or not, you are done now. Christmas is great, but then I have to start cooking (which is easier now that the girls help). But the day after — it’s all over, you’ve got new stuff to play with, you’ve got days of vacation left — it’s the best. Even better if you’re lucky enough to have snow.

Leave a Reply

