Skip to content

Thaw

January 13, 2010

It is above freezing and sunny here today. Consequently, we’re all going a little crazy. I was sitting in my bedroom chair working for most of the morning and couldn’t help but notice all the activity in the linden tree outside. The cardinals came first, kicking up a lot of noise. Then came an enormous fat squirrel, venturing out to gnaw on the string of cranberries I tossed into the branches after I removed them from the living room along with the rest of the Christmas decorations. A little while later, the baby squirrels began to emerge from their hole in the tree. They are big babies now, but still smaller than the adult chewing on the cranberries. They tore up and down the tree like kids let out for recess and wrestled on the branches.

There are several keys to surviving winter up here and tip number one is to take advantage of every nice day, because there aren’t many. I thoroughly enjoyed my walk to yoga and back this morning. Also getting me through the winter: a love of winter sports, cashmere pajamas, heavy wool socks, and a pair of turquoise Fluevog boots inherited from Cranky, booze, kleenex, Woolite, silk long underwear a warm cat, Sherlock Holmes videos and lots of scarves.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    January 13, 2010 4:37 pm

    We might see a few warmish days soon, too. I can’t do wool and cashmere (allergic and much too itchy for my princess skin), but I do love Sherlock Holomes. Are they the Jeremy Brett ones? Those are my favorites. We’ve been watching a number of Jeeves and Woosters lately. I have the whole set.

    Booze goes without saying.

  2. January 13, 2010 5:41 pm

    Yeah, booze, books, B movies, and boots!

  3. Eleanor permalink
    January 13, 2010 10:06 pm

    Above freezing? I can’t get warm here! I sit in front of the wood stove knitting because the rest of the house is so cold I can’t get anything done.

  4. crankygirl permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:40 am

    I have another pair of boots I want you to inherit–Brown. I can’t remember if you tried them before…

  5. January 14, 2010 11:54 am

    Freshhell, definitely Brett. He’s the best, hands down. Jeanne, books go without saying. Eleanor, by above freezing I mean 33 degrees F. So just barely. But we’ll take what we can get. Cranky, I will never look a gift boot in the mouth. I don’t think I’ve tried them on before.

Leave a Reply

