Skip to content

Donate and Delurk

January 14, 2010

I’m jumping on the bandwagon and blogging for Haiti today. Charity links borrowed from Lass and Cold Spaghetti.

If you have a few dollars to spare, support one of these relief efforts:

UNICEF

The American Red Cross

The Clinton Foundation

If you’d prefer a local organization, Cold Spaghetti recommends L’hôpital Albert Schweitzer. You can read about why she picked it here

If you don’t have any money, you can try to help other people collect donations. Ree Drummond, aka The Pioneer Woman is running ”A different kind of giveaway”. Here is how the giveaway works:

To enter today’s giveaway, just shout out well wishes, encouraging words, prayers, etc. for the people of Haiti—and, if applicable, the charity you would choose to support. (Note: if you’re unsure about a charity, any comment you’d like to leave will be fine.)
Friday at noon I will randomly select two entrants, and will donate $500 to both of the winners’ chosen charity. (Note: the charity must be well established, and must be geared toward work in Haiti.)
Next, I will multiply the number of entries received by $.10, and will divide that total by three. I will then choose the top three cited charities in the comments (Statistician Don, get ready!), and will donate 1/3 of the total to each of the three charities.

After you’ve finished donating, come back here and leave a comment, because it’s National Delurker Day!

As a veteran lurker myself, I totally understand your chosen lifestyle. But this is a nice friendly place and I’d love to hear from you. What? You have nothing to say, you say? Perhaps you can offer me some advice. I could probably use some. Any kind of advice will do.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    January 14, 2010 2:17 pm

    Well bring some comments over to my place! I could use them. Everything I have to say is there. At least for today.

  2. Eleanor permalink
    January 14, 2010 3:36 pm

    Advice, eh? Eat your dark green leafy vegetables!

  3. January 14, 2010 5:00 pm

    I’m doing the “delurk and donate” thing today too – I’m donating $1 per comment on today’s post to the Red Cross’ Haiti relief effort.

    I live on the West Coast, and I tend to forget that earthquakes can happen in the Caribbean. I don’t think anyone’s going to forget that again for quite a while.

  4. Katherine permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:56 pm

    Wooden nickels? I say don’t take ’em. Love your work and happy to delurk. I’ll donate too.

  5. January 15, 2010 10:10 am

    Harriet, you totally WON at trivial pursuit for book-lovers today! Congratulations!

    Also, this is another good site for donations: http://www.standwithhaiti.org/haiti
    After reading Mountains beyond Mountains, I can’t imagine anyone who would spend the money more wisely than Paul Farmer.

  6. January 15, 2010 5:15 pm

    yo, ditto on jeanne’s comment about PIH/Stand With Haiti.

Leave a Reply

