Skip to content

A little powered radio

January 21, 2010

This has turned into one hell of a week, and it doesn’t look like it’s getting better soon. So today, bullet points.

• Fielded a call from someone who didn’t like something I said the other night and was concerned that I was speaking on one issue when I had been sitting with the board at a committee meeting. Did that mean I was only pushing one issue through? It was my, “welcome to politics” moment. Made a phone call to someone else who can help me do some damage control in case this same issue crops up again. Haven’t heard back yet.

• Got a mild reprimand for pirating someone’s email list, which I didn’t actually do, although I sort of did. It’s complicated. But I’d do it again. It got results. Except that I won’t do it again, because I’m already in over my head. But it was a day of deflating my confidence. It’s because I wrote about it yesterday, I know it.

• Actually got some of my own work done. Amazing! This including mapping out a mildly complicated trip to the northeast in a couple of weeks, during which I will speak at my alma mater and see Peppy, who has volunteered to pick me up at the airport on the first leg of the trip, Cranky Girl, with whom I’m staying on the second leg, and hopefully meet up with Magpie for lunch on teh second leg. In addition, I’ll be seeing two other college friends, one of whom is speaking at the same conference and the other of whom lives in the town by the college. This second friend I knew from undergrad, but actually got to know her better in my first years of grad school. It should be an interesting trip. If I survive the 4+ hour bus ride in the middle of it.

• This evening, AJ and I went to his school’s annual family skate night at the local roller rink. I’m always amazed at the number of teachers who come to watch and the principal who shows up after a long day and puts on his college roller blades and skates with the kids. This is a nice place. All night I’d worried that I’ve angered the teachers by standing up for volunteerism instead of keeping the budget. I hope they know we’re devastated. I hope we know we had no choice and now we need to move on. But they have a right to be angry too. We are all angry.

• Tomorrow morning I’ve got my first appointment with a private school that I can’t begin to afford. I’m looking forward to seeing what this school does and how it does it. This one’s a school for gifted kids about a half an hour from our house. I’ll probably spend at least part of the afternoon in the nearby public library trying to get some work done. I’m really ready to stop thinking about the budget cuts for a few days.

• Saturday, my brother, whom I haven’t seen in nearly three years (can that be right?) is coming into town for just over 24 hours to attend the 40th birthday party of a college friend. My sister in law is coming to watch AJ so Mr. Spy and I can head into Chicago to meet him for dinner and crash the party, which is at a bar I like. I’m kind of interested to see the college friend too, whom I met a number of times in college (my brother went to college an hour away from me). At the time (and I didn’t know him well at all), he struck me as the boy most likely to self destruct. But it sounds like he’s done well, and that’s always good to see.

• AJ’s busy too. Tomorrow night I take him to his Cub Scout Pack Meeting for the judging of the Pinewood Derby cars. We are almost finished. I think. He has basketball games Saturday and Sunday. And Sunday we’re hoping to meet with his science fair partner, who’s also his buddy from the gifted program. And from Cub Scouts. They see a lot of each other. Lucky they’re friends.

• I need a nap just thinking about this.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 8:54 am

    Only half an hour from your house? Wow. That’s so easy…except for the money part.

  2. January 22, 2010 9:02 am

    Amazingly, there are three schools for gifted kids within 30-45 minutes and several more good prep schools. We have a lot more to choose from than I expected. Except probably we can’t, because of $$.

  3. freshhell permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:06 am

    Well, don’t discount the school until it’s clear they can’t provide enough scholarship money for you. Even a year there would be a good thing. It’s hard to believe how close our kids are to middle school.

  4. crankygirl permalink
    January 22, 2010 1:15 pm

    yeah, just reading that made me tired.

  5. readersguide permalink
    January 22, 2010 2:27 pm

    What Cranky said.

  6. January 22, 2010 11:06 pm

    I thought you wrote something about considering homeschooling, and now I can’t find it. That’s what I get for sneaking away to read from work. I have a dim view of homeschooling (been there, done that) but if anyone could do it well, I believe you and Mr. Spy are well qualified.

    Or I made up the whole thing. Hope you survive your busy weekend!

  7. January 23, 2010 2:26 pm

    I think I did too, Julia, although it may have been in a previous entry. Homeschooling is at the absolute bottom of my list of options, in part because of some of the things you’ve said. I think homeschooling can work, and I like the idea of designing more hands on curricula (more science experiments; building units around trips to museums, etc.) but I don’t think it’s the best approach for AJ, who is a very social kid and learns a lot from his peers. I think he would do best in a class or school with other gifted kids and teachers who know how to work with them. But I’m not sure if that’s going to be an option. I have been talking with a couple of other parents of kids in the gifted program about maybe forming a homeschooling coop, but it might be an after school program. If the school day is substantially shortened, as it may be, that might work okay. There’s a lot to think about in any case.

  8. January 23, 2010 11:21 pm

    Harriet, my dim view is in part based on the very religious bent to the curriculum my parents chose (it ignored dinosaurs and evolution.) I really do think you and Mr. Spy would be able to do a good job of it, and I think there are ways to compensate for the social shortcomings. I hope I didn’t put you off homeschooling, it could very well be one of the better options in your current situation. At any rate, I won’t judge you if you decide to do it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

