Skip to content

You’re going to spend the night outside

January 27, 2010

Mrs. Stein is in the doghouse, if such a thing is possible. Usually I put her in the basement at night, but last night I was feeling sorry for her. She is a cat of a certain age and the basement is bordering on arctic. She always looks a bit arthritic when she yowls her way to a morning exit and makes a beeline for her favorite heating vent and plasters her whole body right against it. So last night, when the temps were dropping back into the single digits, I left the basement door open.

But Mrs. Stein is not very considerate and came yowling to the landing between the bedrooms at a little before 6 am. Not wanting her to wake AJ, I let her in (Mr. Spy was already up and not around to be disturbed), whereupon she stalked around the room whining for an hour straight. Then, when let out, she went straight to the kitchen and jumped on the counter, where she is not supposed to be. She is a bad kitty, as AJ never ceases to tell her.

AJ is not in the doghouse, for the first time this week. We are getting entirely too much teenagery behavior from him and he keeps losing dessert, video game privileges, and other things, seeing as he’s not yet old enough for us to take away the car keys. As I type, he is in the bathroom, where he is supposed to be getting ready for bed, playing a rocking air guitar solo.

I won’t be playing any guitar tonight, air or otherwise. Too many hours of violin practice this week combined with a hand-intensive kriya in yoga class this morning have rendered my hands all but useless. Typing this far has been a serious challenge.

You know what else I’m not doing? Watching the State of the Union addressed. It’s fairly unlike me. But I can’t take any more politics this week. The local politics are wearing me out. I’m looking forward to escaping to parts east next week. If only I didn’t have quite so much to do before I leave.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    January 28, 2010 12:59 pm

    I laughed at this. Pokey has been, from day one, shut out of all bedrooms at night. He’s cool with it, after all, he’s got the whole rest of the house to himself. But, it also means that he is howling at the bedroom door around 6:15am every morning. On week days, my husband just gets up and feeds him, etc. On weekends, he’s sometimes put in his cat carrier so we can all sleep later.

  2. January 28, 2010 2:14 pm

    Ron and I sleep in a cat pile, but the kids shut their bedroom doors.

    I like everything about your new layout except that to comment, you have to go back to the beginning.

  3. January 28, 2010 2:21 pm

    I hate that too, Jeanne. I’m trying to decide if I hate it enough to go back to the old layout or pay to do it the way I want to.

  4. Whisper permalink
    February 1, 2010 9:47 am

    I bought my old, arthritic cat a heating pad for pets and he spends the majority of his time on it. Maybe Mrs. Stein would appreciate a heating pad for the arctic basement?

Leave a Reply

