Skip to content

from the trenches

January 29, 2010

You may have noticed that I changed my layout a couple of days ago. I’ve been unhappy with the legibility of my header for some time, but I’m only just now getting around to dealing with it. I’m almost totally happy with this layout. It’s legible and organized and clean. But there’s one thing that really bugs me: the comment button is at the top of the post. Why on earth would they do that? I hate it when I have to scroll back up to the top to leave a comment.

Interestingly, since changing over to this format, I’ve had a significant drop in the average number of comments. Is it related? Let me know. Does the comment button bother you? Scroll back up to the top of this post and click it to let me know and I’ll try something else.

* * * * *

I spent the morning meeting with our school district’s curriculum director to talk about what will happen to the gifted kids now that the funding for the program has been axed. And it was a pretty positive meeting, under the circumstances. The curriculum director is very much on the same page as we are and has been thinking about all the same issues. I think we’re going to be able to work together well. But I had the same experience I had when I met with her last spring over AJ’s test scores. During the meeting, I felt good, like we really understood each other, like things were going to work out fine. But afterwards, I wasn’t sure if we’d really accomplished anything. But conversation is good, at least. And we got a little more information about where things are. And she got a little more information about what our kids need and what we’re concerned about. Hopefully everyone will be able to work with a little more information.

Meanwhile, the creative suggestions continue to come in. Yesterday I emailed a woman who runs an enrichment program at the local community college for gifted kids. They also run classes for homeschoolers. I asked if they would ever consider bringing extra curricular programs into schools. Today she emailed me back and said they’d be very interested in working with us to see what they can do. The good thing about that is that the programs should be comparatively inexpensive, since we already pay for the community college with taxes. Maybe they’d be more affordable for the general population than the fancy gifted school programs that are generally $200-$300 and up per session.

It’s a sunny day, which helps make things seem better.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 5:09 pm

    I always access your blog through Google Reader, and it takes me directly to your comments page. If I’m not leaving comments, it’s because I’m just too lazy. Nice layout, though. One suggestion: your actual entry font could be a bit bigger. Damn these middle aged eyes!

  2. January 29, 2010 5:11 pm

    I can’t answer the comment question, because I’m first. Huh.

  3. January 29, 2010 5:50 pm

    Well, comments are now at the bottom, the font seems larger, and I really have nothing else to say about the new layout. Big meeting here last night about cutting the budget shortfalls in our county. Still undecided: cutting programs/teachers or upping the millage rate for property taxes. The superintendent got a raise.

  4. freshhell permalink
    January 29, 2010 6:01 pm

    I find the comments at the bottom. I have also had a drop in comments lately. I think everyone has vamoosed or, like Elgan, has gotten lazy. Or, maybe we don’t have friends anymore and should start our own gang and write hateful things in our diaries about them.

  5. January 29, 2010 7:18 pm

    I’ve also had a drop in comments. It’s January, maybe that’s been the problem? I just assumed I was boring, although I don’t think you’ve been boring. I’ve just been working a lot and finding less time to comment than I’d like.

  6. January 29, 2010 7:51 pm

    Funny. I still have to scroll back to the beginning to comment, but once I click the button, it puts the comments at the end. But if it’s not bothering anyone, I think I’ll leave it. I don’t know how to increase the font size, but that does sometimes vary depending on the browser used. I will keep looking for the perfect template, but I think I’ll keep this one for the time being. Thanks for chiming in. And Jill, I read the article you posted on facebook. It sounded all too familiar. I don’t think our superintendent got a raise, but he didn’t get a cut like most other people. Of course, his job just got a lot shittier.

  7. lemming permalink
    January 30, 2010 2:14 am

    No comments from me simply as I have been painfully busy with the first round of essays and the joys that generally come with that process. It’s very late and i only have one and half more to go!

  8. January 30, 2010 8:26 pm

    Same as Eleanor – I’m a Google Reader reader. If I don’t comment it’s because I’m too bloody lazy.

Leave a Reply

