Skip to content

I love teaching violin

January 29, 2010

I taught two students at School of Rock tonight. My first, the brilliant third grader does everything I say and then some and is so enthusiastic that i could teach her every day. She offered me gum when she came in and was trying to learn songs by ear that I hadn’t even assigned. My second, the taciturn five-year-old girl who usually comes on Monday, cut loose today and told me all about her favorite music (Taylor Swift, “all the girls at my school like her and so do I”). When I asked her her favorite song, she said, “I don’t remember the name, but I will sing it for you. And she did. As she was leaving, she ran back to give me a big hug. Best. Paycheck. Ever.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 9:44 pm

    I am so glad your job is rewarding. I bet you’re a great teacher, though. If I had the slightest urge to learn violin…

    Today I was really wishing for bike season. Maybe we could skip to that part?

  2. Eleanor permalink
    January 30, 2010 9:37 am

    Those are the students who make it worthwhile.

  3. January 30, 2010 9:52 am

    I would love to skip to bike season, Julia. But the snow coming down is not giving me much hope for the immediate future. And Eleanor, I totally agree. But I also just like the sheer variety of instrumental teaching. I love lecturing too, but teaching a group is a very different thing than working one-on-one and having the luxury of being able to tailor what you teach and how you teach it to the individual student. It’s a totally different thing to teach a 5-year-old than an 8-year-old than an adult who’s always wanted to learn an instrument to an adult professional musician who wants to learn a new instrument.

  4. January 31, 2010 11:20 am

    Have you seen this? http://www.marriedtothesea.com/index.php?date=013110

Leave a Reply

