Skip to content

You wonder why the nightingale sings

February 16, 2010

Good things that happened today:

• The preternaturally sparkly snow that didn’t get too deep last night and shone in the sun this morning.

• Another hour spent in the company of Heinrich von Biber and my violin.

• The project of learning powerpoint turning out to be a 30 minute commitment rather than an entire morning

• An unexpected compliment from an old friend.

• An unsigned valentine with no postmark arriving in my mailbox.

What nice things happened to you today?

If you need ideas, check out Three Beautiful Things.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 7:34 pm

    I finished reading a good book because I didn’t have to go to work. It wasn’t just that I couldn’t get to the college I commute to; the whole place was closed!

  2. February 16, 2010 10:02 pm

    When you find out about the valentine, I hope you’ll tell us! Today I had a health screening, and my cholesterol is AWESOME. Also, my pulse is “dead.” Which is apparently common in people who run, maybe you should check Mr. Spy for signs of life?

  3. freshhell permalink
    February 17, 2010 8:58 am

    I also rec’d a mysterious valentine in the mail. But, I figured out who it was from.

  4. February 17, 2010 9:06 am

    With no postmark, I haven’t got a lot to go on unless someone wants to volunteer a hint.

  5. February 17, 2010 9:28 am

    When I got the trivial pursuit game for booklovers it came anonymously to my campus mailbox. A former student had given it to a friend who was visiting campus. Students sometimes do things like that; she thought it was very funny to make me wonder how it had gotten in there.

  6. February 17, 2010 2:15 pm

    Today, on the train into the city, I looked out the window at a glorious winter wonderland – bright blue sky, fresh clean snow on the ground and in all the branches. It made my heart sing.

  7. crankygirl permalink
    February 17, 2010 3:40 pm

    Preternaturally is an awesome word. Love it!

  8. February 18, 2010 9:41 am

    Found all the things on my London list, had coffee on Regent Street with an old friend, got a great price for the WWII banknotes in Bloomsbury, was suitably impressed by the London production of A Man Of No Importance, took Himself out afterwards to a chi-chi hole in the wall bar in Shoreditch for weirdly named and tasting cocktails. Been too long since I was in full IWOM mode.

  9. February 18, 2010 7:14 pm

    So many nice things for so many nice people. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

