Skip to content

Everyone is a burning sun

February 18, 2010

The following post was written yesterday evening, but I apparently dozed off over the keyboard before actually posting it. Let that stand as further evidence that it’s a very busy week at Spy Headquarters.

I am beat.

Yoga this morning should have been skipped. I should have been working. But I don’t regret it for a minute. It’s been two weeks since my last class and I needed it.

Afterwards, I got to work and I think I have figured out a paper to present in two weeks, although it still needs quite a bit of work. It’s not at all what I’d expected to come up with. It’s a weird orphan diss chapter that may eventually get cut. It’s sort of a footnote run amok, because I found it so wildly interesting. This is my chance to try to make it relevant. Or if that fails, work it up into an independent paper. I wish I had one more week, but I still have a backup paper I can use if I can’t pull this off. I hope I can pull this off. It will be fun to read — full of juicy period quotes. I’m nervous about it, though, because it’s a bit of a risk, this one. It’s organized around unpacking one quirky little book and tracing its elements back to actual historical events and relating it to the phenomenon I’m researching. It’s a tricky triangle to balance and I have to do it carefully. I like working with primary source material, though. And this one’s a doozy.

I was so involved in that project that I nearly missed school pickup. I grabbed AJ and headed home to try to finish up the science fair project with his friend. Have I talked about the science fair here? Did I mention this crazy solar oven thing we built? It looks like a satellite dish covered in tinfoil. You point it out the window at the sun and it focuses the heat at its center, although I’m pretty sure that to the neighbors, it looks like we are trying to contact life forms on other planets. We tried to cook marshmallows in it, but instead we demonstrated that solar ovens are NOT efficient cooking methods for northern climates. On the plus side, we found a charity that is donating solar ovens to victims of the Haiti earthquake. The boys really wanted to pack up their oven after the science fair and send it to Haiti, but we convinced them to try to collecting money for the charity at the science fair instead. We worked until 5:45 and then sprinted off to the library for AJ’s book club, where we discussed a book about Pale Male and made very sticky bird feeders out of pinecones, toilet paper tubes, honey, peanut butter and bird seed. Then we headed to a local eatery for a fundraiser for AJ’s school. We didn’t get home until after 8, and then there was homework to do (for both of us, alas) and a Percy Jackson novel to finish. No Olympics for me tonight.

Tomorrow there will be a trip for more provisions, more writing, more science fair — the finalization thereof, I hope, seeing as the fair itself is on Friday — and a concert put on by the third grade at AJ’s school. Here are the tantalizing tidbits we’ve heard about the concert thus far: AJ is holding up the letter “E” in “America.” He doesn’t have any lines, but he’s doing a ribbon dance with mostly boys and one girl. And the songs are in multiple languages but he’s not sure what all of them are. Too bad my camera is broken. I really need to find the warranty/receipt and send it back.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. readersguide permalink
    February 18, 2010 12:10 pm

    Your paper sounds really interesting, but more intriguing yet is AJ’s pageant. Hmm. I’ve just started the mysterious benedict society (I’m on page 3) and I like it so far . . .

  2. freshhell permalink
    February 18, 2010 12:17 pm

    We need to start the Lightning Thief – Dusty wants to see the movie and I like to read a book before I see the movie version but that might not happen.

    RG – we LOVE all the MBS books. I think you’ll enjoy it.

    Good luck with the paper…and the reading of it!

  3. Eleanor permalink
    February 18, 2010 12:59 pm

    I can understand why you posted late. What I can’t understand is where you found the time, or the energy, to write this at all!

  4. February 18, 2010 3:29 pm

    The Lightning Thief movie is better if you haven’t already read the book…

  5. readersguide permalink
    February 18, 2010 8:23 pm

    I’m back — my god those are beautiful pictures.

Leave a Reply

