Skip to content

True North

March 1, 2010

4 hour Cub Scout meeting: Rapidly fading into memory. Which is probably best. There were a lot of tom-toms. And a fake campfire. And a bunch of 1st graders in “African” masks they’d made themselves dancing around the fire singing “Ging Gang Goolie,” and in general a lot of moments that looked a little racist. The food was bad and there was not a green vegetable in sight. But the kids seemed to have fun. And overall, there was a lot going on, so it wasn’t quite as tedious as I’d been expecting, although I would have been happier if the time had been cut in half.

The paper: Still not done. Eeek.

Other news: job interview at another music studio on Friday. Not instead of School of Rock, but maybe in addition to. But I’m not sure I’m going to like it. We’ll see. Oh, and Mr. Spy got called back for a studio test for a game show with a Canadian host, who was about the only Canadian not in the closing ceremony of the Olympics.

And can I talk about the closing ceremonies for a minute? Could they have been any more hilarious? Giant Mounties? Giant inflatable beavers? And announcers who kept saying things like “here come the giant inflatable beavers!”? How about the girl dressed as a hockey puck? Or Michael Bublé in a breakaway mountie costume? There was definitely something for everyone.

Okay, enough nostalgia. Back to work.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    March 2, 2010 9:27 am

    Gosh, I’m glad I have a girl scout. I’m not sure I’m woman enough to handle a boy scout outing such as you describe. They should give out chocolate or something to the mom’s that attend.

    We only saw the first half hour of the closing ceremonies and thus missed all that stuff. It was Dusty’s bedtime and I decided to watch The 39 Steps instead. I need PBS on Sunday evenings.

  2. readersguide permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:30 pm

    It was pretty great — don’t forget the inflatable moose, too. And I really liked the canadian sweaters, too, although I am not sure I would wear one.

Leave a Reply

