Skip to content

Lundy, fastnet, Irish sea

March 4, 2010

I’m sitting in a cafeteria on campus watching people come and go. It is the season for grad school prospie visits, and there are many pairs of people getting and receiving advice. The campus school across the street has just let out, so there are also a lot of children here. A small girl dressed all in pink is climbing across the seats. A smaller boy, wearing a spiderman hat is pushing around a tiny wooden bike and brandishing a cup of ice cream. He sits down at a table to look at a picture book with his mother, but first, he salutes me with his spoon. The people next to me are discussing someone one of them used to live with and the other one is considering living with. It’s hard not to eavesdrop. I feel lucky to have garnered a rare outlet. But it’s a little hard to concentrate.

I got to campus a little before noon and slipped in the side door of the music department. My advisor’s door was open. I peeked in timidly, but he wasn’t there. Instead, two men were doing something on his computer. He is forever having computer problems. He seems to have bad computer karma. He once told me the story of my favorite computer accident ever. He lives in an old bungalow and his office was in the basement. One morning he was upstairs in his living room and he spilled his coffee. Freakishly, the coffee dripped through the heating vent directly into the vent in his computer on the floor below.

I haven’t seen him in a long time. I didn’t bother mentioning that I was going to be here today, because I’m pretty sure he is the one behind it. Besides — my name is plastered all over campus at the moment. If no one shows up, it won’t be for lack of advertising. I wonder if my advisor will show up. I don’t even know if he’s in town. Why, yes. I am a coward.

I breathed a slight sigh of relief and headed down the hall to the classroom to sit in on an informal class just starting up. I knew the instructor and one other person in the room. But it was fun to spend two hours in a class of intelligent people discussing reading and practice. More than that, I cannot say, but I enjoyed it, once I got over feeling like an old fogey, and hope I can make it back for more.

I had lunch with my friend H. afterwards and am now killing time until I need to head back over to prep for my lecture. I’m a little nervous in the same way I was nervous at Smith, because there will probably be people there who know me well. You’d think that would make it easier, but it doesn’t. But mostly, I don’t mind presentations. I sometimes even enjoy them. So as long as I don’t space out or have a coughing fit, I should be okay.

One Comment leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    March 5, 2010 9:07 am

    Best of luck with your presentation!

Leave a Reply

