Skip to content

How many holes it takes to fill the Albert Hall

March 6, 2010

Let’s see, where was I?

The paper went well and was surprisingly well attended, considering it was a gorgeous sunny afternoon warm enough that a couple of undergrads were playing Frisbee on the quad alongside the requisite math grad student jugglers. Technology was a slight problem. It turned out that I brought the wrong adaptor for the video. But My advisor had a flash drive, so I tossed the powerpoint on his drive and ran the visuals from his computer. The VHS was another problem. I’d carefully cued up my video, but it rewound itself while I was talking, so it took me a while to find what I wanted to show. But since the grad student assistants didn’t even know how to work this ancient technology, no one seemed to mind much. And there were some good questions afterwards.

They packed me reception leftovers for the train ride home afterwards and one of the workshop student organizers drove me to the train along with another grad student who’d left his bike at the station. They were grilling me about old department gossip, and filled me in on more recent events, which was kind of entertaining in a “plus ça change” kind of way. I made it home just in time to tuck AJ into bed, but, alas, too late to call Cranky who’d had her baby that morning. Hooray!

Friday was not much more restful. I had a job interview in the morning at a music studio looking for a second violin teacher. I got the job, although there are no actual students yet. It’s a very different kind of place than School of Rock, but seems like a good place to work. And it pays extremely well. I had just enough time for lunch before heading to my volunteer job at the library, where I shelved books and taught first graders how to find non-fiction books. One of the first grade classes was having hat day and they all wanted to come up to the desk to show me their hats, some of which were very fancy. Then it was on to School of Rock for what I thought was two lessons but turned out to be just one, as I had a no show. But I got to start talking theory with my jazz student, which was fun. Next time I’m going to be terrorizing him with transcription.

And today, it was warm(ish) and sunny, so I scrapped plans to clean out the basement and instead suited up for spring cleaning. I cranked up the Saturday morning Irish shows on WFUV (thank you, internet!) as I scoured the front hall closet, took down the curtains for washing, and waxed the floor. By the time I’d moved on to the front room, it was time for the opera. I heard the entire broadcast of Verdi’s Attila before it was time to head to AJ’s final basketball game, which they won. AJ made two out of the 6 baskets for his team, and I got to hold a 4-month old baby for a while (the little brother of The Boy Across the Street, who was on the opposing team), so a good time was had by all.

And now Mr. Spy and I are holed up in our bedroom for the evening because AJ is sleeping on the pull-out sofa in the front room. We never, ever use it. It’s a relic from my old apartment, which had no guest room. AJ didn’t know it turned into a bed and was totally fascinated when I opened it up to vacuum it today. He begged to try it out. I fear he is going to want to stay down there forever.

And now I must try to locate the cat before she wakes him up. Bad Mrs. Stein.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    March 7, 2010 1:45 pm

    Congrats on the job! Well, AJ can join the elite club of Children Who Sleep On Couches. Red is the founder and president. Sigh.

Trackbacks

  1. Kitchen « Readers Guide to . . .

Leave a Reply

