Skip to content

Build a better mousetrap

March 9, 2010

There are so many things going on here at Spy Headquarters that I feel like my head is going to explode.

Thing #1: Teaching at school of rock continues to be great fun. Yesterday I coached my most advanced student through his St. Pat’s gig, which he more than has under control, worked with my two young beginner and my college student who came straight from his pastry class and gifted me with cinnamon rolls and blueberry scones. This job is getting dangerous.

Thing #2: I’m trying to revise a conference paper from a couple of years ago first for a friend who wants her students to read it for a class she’s teaching and ultimately to shop around for publication. The first version needs to be done by Friday. Eek.

Thing #3: I skipped last night’s school board meeting because I didn’t think I could take it. In reading about it this morning, I’m sure I did the right thing. The names of more than 70 teachers who will be laid off, 35 of them tenured, were read out. And the Board of Ed made a rhetorical move that is, I think, going to have major PR repercussions for them. I know why they did it, and I can see why they felt they had to, but most people don’t have that information and I think they may have just shot themselves in the foot. I hope I am wrong.

Thing #4: An article about teaching last weekend combined with an email from a psychologist friend and another from the director of the gifted school I visited a few weeks ago got me back on the school search bandwagon. I had a long talk about school issues with Siren. I’ve identified a few other places to look and I talked to a nun with a sense of humor and an unusually good curriculum. I just don’t see how we can make this work financially. But I’m really hoping the lightning bolt will hit and all will become clear. I’m not sure our school district is going to be able to teach him next year. I’m not sure they’re teaching him now. And I need to make appointments at a bunch of places. I wish I had a million dollars.

Thing #5: I am attending the pedagogy class again on Thursday and I have homework — reading and syllabus finding. The latter is where I have the advantage. So many of my friends are teaching now, all I have to do is ask.

Thing#6: I want to have a timetable figured out before my meeting with my advisor on Thursday. And wait, I have a meeting with my advisor ON THURSDAY.

Thing #7: AJ’s birthday is coming up in a few short weeks and I need to plan two parties (one with kids, one with family) and buy him a present. That is, I will have to do these things if I will allow him to be 9. I’m not entirely convinced I’m on board with that. 9 is far too old. It should not be permitted.

Thing #8: Vacation. I can’t even think about it right now. I’m hoping I will be able to think about it when I am there.

By my calculations,

2 things
______________ x=8 things ergo x Things=4 Cats in the Hats (Cat in the Hats? Cats in the Hat?)
1 Cat in the Hat

I am three cats short of total chaos.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 1:26 pm

    If I had a million dollars…I’d buy you a school. But not just any school, that’s cruel…

  2. March 9, 2010 1:26 pm

    And I thought I was busy, it being the last week of classes at my commuter college. You’ve got me beat, including a son’s birthday coming up a little faster than my son’s. And the school issues. I have so far been able to work with my local public schools (don’t ask me how, since my kids went to the middle school where John Freshwater of creationist-teaching fame used to teach), but I did go to a school board meeting last night and let me just sum up the experience by saying AAURGH!!! and pulling my hair.

  3. March 9, 2010 1:53 pm

    If I had a million dollars, I’d mail you three cats. But that probably wouldn’t help…

  4. freshhell permalink
    March 9, 2010 2:07 pm

    Nine is a good age, in my opinion. That part will take care of itself.

  5. March 9, 2010 3:33 pm

    Realized this morning that I’d double booked both tomorrow and Wednesday. I was telling my kids to choose clothes for school pictures for Wed/Thurs. but for some reason didn’t register that I AM IN CHARGE OF THOSE PICTURE DAYS and THEY AREN’T NEXT WEEK, THEY ARE NOW. Plus, I decided to schedule a church weekend for a bunch of families and SUDDENLY the reservations had to be made RIGHT NOW or we weren’t going to be able to go. I want to sit outside in the sun and read because it is going to rain and get cold again tomorrow (in time for pictures which are supposed to be outdoors) and reading would help me avoid reality. I’m stressed. Vacation?

  6. March 9, 2010 4:09 pm

    I too, would like a million dollars. You know that bit about money not buying happiness? I think a rich person wrote it, because I might not be happier with more money, but I’d be much more comfortable. Hang in there. (And is there still a thought of homeschooling?)

  7. readersguide permalink
    March 9, 2010 6:37 pm

    Thank god I have not been to any school board meetings, because M is about to graduate, but it is the same story here. That article was interesting. It almost convinced me that I should become a teacher myself. Here we waste so much money throwing fix after fix at the “achievement gap.” It’s so clear that if we could just put that money into getting rid of the truly awful teachers or maybe teaching them how to teach and retaining the good ones we would be well on our way to closing it. But who wants to teach where every year you’re let go in June and rehired in August, or worse, September? It’s untenable.

  8. March 9, 2010 8:46 pm

    Man, I HAD two cats I’d have been happy to give you. That would only leave you one cat short of total chaos – although they provided enough chaos for three cats, easily.

    re: your comment, I was thinking about biking on Saturday. I need to have mine tuned up, but then we should plan a ride!

  9. March 9, 2010 9:46 pm

    Smed, and I think we all know the school uniform would be green dresses (but not real green dresses). Jeanne, I’m getting the distinct impression that hair pulling is the only sane reaction to school board meetings of any kind, anywhere. Magpie, I suspect the cats are only a symptom, but I appreciate the thought. Freshhell, I think you are right. I remember my own 9 well. It was one of my favorite years. And it’s the year I can pinpoint as starting to feel like a real person. Jill, several deep breaths and a glass of red wine will do wonders. Peti, I agree. Homeschool is still under consideration, but not my first choice. I will at least try him in the public school before making that particular decision. But I’m also trying to plan what I’d do in the event that I need to pull him out. Readersguide, I know. Who can work under those conditions? And the thing our school board pulled? Maybe worse. I’m not happy. Julia, “HAD?” Does this mean Reilly is an only dog now? And yes, yes to biking!

  10. March 10, 2010 10:48 pm

    Yes, Reilly is now an only dog. This has been an enormous improvement.

Leave a Reply

